Grilled Mint Yogurt Lamb Chops

As there is the South and the Deep South, there also exists the Country and the Deep Country.  This Sunday we left our country town of Sens, 40,000 inhabitants, to attend a barbecue in Villiers-Louis, population 449, deep country.

Our host Alain, retired teacher and 4th generation Villiers-Louisian and his lovely wife, Sophie, welcomed us to share in an impromptu, alfresco, potluck barbecue with his family and neighbors.  Try as he might, Alain was unsuccessful at having his daughter remove the tell-tale bottle of ketchup from the table before I snapped this picture.  America, winning the hearts and minds of France, condiment by condiment :)

M. Jean-Louis Gaujard, on the right, is a well known producer of foie gras.  Food groupie that I am, I was thrilled to talk with him about the merits of magret de canard and sauteed foie gras with cherry or mango sauce.  My friend Sophie wanted to discuss Sophie and her lamb chop.  I can imagine her childhood :)

Grilled Mint Yogurt Lamb Chops

Lamb chops for a crowd, at least 2 per person

1/2 cup spring onions, chopped

1/4 cup fresh mint, chopped

1 tbsp ground ginger

1 tbsp ground cumin

1 tsp ground cinnamon

1/2 tsp piment d’espelette

1 tsp salt

2 cups Greek yogurt

Mix the spices and vegetables together with the yogurt, then put into a zip lock bag with the chops, squish around and refrigerate overnight.

Grill and serve with Japanese potato salad    http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2011/02/06/honey-mustard-fried-chicken-with-japanese-potato-salad/ and beet salsa  http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2012/03/24/pan-fried-cod-with-beet-salsa/

Wine suggestion:  Rose d’Anjou

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Grilled Mint Yogurt Lamb Chops

  1. calmyourbeans says:

    Reblogged this on calmyourbeans.

  2. Foie gras and ketchup at the same table too funny.

  3. Fantastic shots at the table – that’s what eating is all about.

  4. An excellent recipe.. it’s almost grilling weather here. Well, I think there is a snowfall warning.. Why so much snow now!!??

  5. Karen says:

    I’ve had some of my best meals at an impromptu gathering. Food and friends make for a lovely day.

  6. I’d rather have these lamb chops than ketchup any day. What were they eating ketchup on?

  7. Oh my. Being Welsh, lamb and mint is literally the best combination in the food world for me – it’s a shame lamb chops don’t really have a place on my blog since they aren’t particularly frugal. (I still eat them though).

    • Maybe you’ll catch a fantastic sale on New Zealand lamb chops and be able to work them into a blog. It’s the season!

      • I live in Wales… Why on earth would I buy New Zealand lamb? Honestly, try Welsh lamb – you shall never look back. I really don’t believe in buying things from half way around the globe when it’s readily and easily available on my doorstep. I’m never more than a few hundred metres from a field of lambs where I live :D. A lot can be said for supporting one’s local economy.

  8. I’ve never had Welsh lamb but I have tasted both French and American and so far New Zealand is number one. Why would I intentionally eat an inferior product? I’ll have to wait until I visit London to test your lamb. Nothing here but French and New Zealand.

    • Oh, I agree that if you can’t find a better one. I’ve tried both New Zealand and Welsh (Welsh can sometimes be hard to find when I’m in England) – Welsh was by far the best.

  9. cjdelgrosso says:

    Another great dish! I tend to agree with frugal, I shy away from buying imported foods. I have many fresh local lamb farms here in New England and prefer them to anything imported. That being said, I think this dish was wonderful and I love Greek yogurt with lamb as well! I make a cilantro-lime tzaziki that is pretty killer with chili rubbed lamb!

  10. Thank you cj. Love the idea of the chilli rubbed lamb :)

  11. Your pictures of your loved ones enjoying your food are so real and so wonderful.

  12. Villy says:

    Well, being Greek, grilled lamb chops and yogurt sauce is a winning combo :D. Lovely photos!

  13. What a wonderful meal! And a great chance to talk about food with people who enjoy it and know a lot about it. As for the lamb discussion – I’m Welsh (so maybe not neutral on this question), but I think Welsh lamb has the best flavour of any I’ve ever tasted and I certainly wouldn’t buy New Zealand lamb that has been brought all round the world to Europe (although I’m sure it tastes wonderful in NZ). Now, living in the Languedoc, I buy local, or as local as possible, and the best I’ve eaten, and the nearest to Welsh lamb in flavour, comes direct from a farm in the Aveyron.

  14. It looks a wonderful meal, lots of great food, talk, laughter an dsunshine, despite the erm American condiments!

  15. I love marinating lamb in yogurt and mint. Just the thought of it makes my mouth water.

    It looks like you are getting some good mileage out of those beets too ;-)

  16. katyarich says:

    It sounds like you had a great time, lovely pictures, and delicious lamb of course:)

  17. Pingback: Deep Fried Sardines | Cooking in Sens

  18. Pingback: Salade de Gesiers de Canard | Cooking in Sens

Leave a Reply

