Pan Fried Cod with Beet Salsa

The French never cease to fascinate me; they have peeled and cooked beets in the fresh vegetable section of their supermarkets.  A lot of them, which means people are buying them.  Mind snatched again I, no beet lover, bought some too.  What the heck :)

What to do with the beets?  I remembered the beets my mother cooked to death in an unattractive bleeding gravy.  I for sure didn’t want to do that!  This picture over at BBC made the decision for me http://www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/2508/panfried-fish-with-fresh-beetroot-salsa.  I had some fresh cod and mint and so was ready to cook.

Pan Fried Cod with Beet Salsa

4 small beets, cooked, peeled and diced

4 spring onions, chopped

1 large scotch bonnet, seeded and chopped

2 tbsp fresh mint, chopped

2 tbsp lemon juice

3 tbsp olive oil

Salt and pepper

1 1/2 lbs fresh cod, seasoned with salt and pepper

Flour

4 tbsp olive oil

2 tbsp butter

Mix the beets, onions, pepper, mint, lemon juice and 3 tbsp olive oil together in a bowl.  Refrigerate.

Cut the fish into serving pieces, dredge in the flour and fry in the olive oil and butter until brown; about 4 minutes per side.  Serve with the salsa.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, English, fish, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Pan Fried Cod with Beet Salsa

  1. Everything you touch looks so gourmet!

  2. Tessa says:

    Your beet salsa looks beautiful! I started preparing fresh beets only a couple of years ago. It took me a long time to introduce them to my kitchen because I assumed that they tasted like the icky stuff in a can. I sure was wrong! Fresh beets are really good. I’m definitely trying this recipe!

  3. Amrita says:

    As a fellow beet-lover I think that plate of food looks fantastic. As a matter of fact, I have a tin of beet & chocolate cupcakes in the oven right now!

  4. I love how simple this fish recipe is!

  5. Just like carrot cake beets in a cake are pretty good, I like Guinness & beet cake, delicious.

  6. Just like carrot cake, beetroot cake is also good, my favourite is Guiness & Beetroot cake, delicious!!!

  7. That looks beautiful and light and zingy Rosemary. Just perfect for a lovely springtime lunch.
    Cheers
    Marcus

  8. Looks absolutely delicious! Sounds like lots of things are coming into the market for you right now. We have ramps coming in. It’s really early for them (we have had upper 70′s and 80-degree temps in NYC lately), but that doesn’t mean that I don’t want them!

    I always wondered why most beets in France were already cooked. I asked someone at the market once and she said that back in the day, when fuel was scarce and consequently too expensive, people would cook all the beets together to conserve fuel. Funny how they continue to do it now!

  9. Sounds yummy but fiery !

  10. I am a total fan of beetroot, so long as it not that horrid stuff in bottles with vinegar.

  11. Nicely done! Often the beet can end up looking really pink, vs the dark purple. Less aesthetically pleasing. This looks great!

  12. Sooo pretty! I was just saying there aren’t enough beet recipes around here.. Love it! I couldn’t imagine finding them already done at the store.. very cool!

  13. Pingback: Grilled Mint Yogurt Lamb Chops | Cooking in Sens

  14. cjdelgrosso says:

    Love the fish! Not so much the beets. I just cannot get myself to try them! But nevertheless, a stunning dish once again!

Leave a Reply

