Smoked Duck, Spinach and Noodle Soup

My inspiration for this soup comes from the Smoky Wok blog.  Her Chinese Leeks with Waxed Duck Stir-fry really caught my eye http://www.smokywok.com/2012/03/chinese-leeks-with-waxed-duck-stir-fry.html, but as I only had smoked duck and French leeks, I decided to take the freezing rain into consideration and make a soup.

Smoked Duck, Spinach and Noodle Soup

1 leek, thinly sliced

4 garlic cloves, slivered

3 slices fresh ginger

2 tsp sake

6 cups chicken broth

3 tbsp Japanese men tsuyu

1 leg smoked duck, sliced

4 cups spinach leaves, torn

Somen noodles, cooked

Hard boiled eggs

Spring onion, sliced

Bring to a boil the leek, garlic, ginger, sake and chicken broth.  Simmer for 5 minutes.  Add the men tsuyu and duck and simmer for an additional 3 minutes.  Remove the pot from the flame and stir in the spinach.

Divide the noodles among bowls and top with the duck, spinach, broth,  1/2 egg and spring onions.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Asian, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes, Soup and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Smoked Duck, Spinach and Noodle Soup

  1. I’m crazy for stir fry, but this soup looks as though would hit the spot as well.

  2. Kathy says:

    Wow, that looks wonderful! Especially since it combines all my favorite things into one bowl… yum!

  3. Looks wonderful. You know we hadn’t cooked with spinach in awhile, even though it’s always in our fridge. We just had some wilted, oh man!

  4. cjdelgrosso says:

    mmmmmm duck… my favorite!

  5. Tessa says:

    Beautiful soup!

  6. This recipe brings back happy memories of when I lived in London and I would often go to Chinatown for a bite with friends. My favourite quick meal was duck soup noodle…now I´m craving it!

  7. Michelle says:

    That looks so wonderful. We can’t find smoked duck here (and don’t have a smoker). But there are some confit breasts in the freezer. I think I know what to make for dinner tomorrow night!

  8. AvocadoPesto says:

    This sounds absolutely delicious – I love smoked duck!

Leave a Reply

