Chocolate Salon Sens, France 2012

Today was Sens’ annual chocolate salon and even though Jade has given up chocolate for Lent, there was no way she was missing it!  I told her that I had read somewhere that you could take Sundays off if you wanted.  She was relieved.

Chocolate fountains are a big deal here.  I saw at least two.

Father and son chocolate artisans

Odd looking animals in white, milk and dark chocolate

Chocolate truffle makers

Orange slices dipped in dark chocolate

More odd animals and strawberry.  I liked the cows :)

The hot chocolate seller is William Fletcher, an American who has lived in the area for a very long time.  Very funny guy.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Dessert, Food and Wine, French and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Chocolate Salon Sens, France 2012

  1. The white chocolate sculpture is beautiful – and the orange slices, so delicate.

    I was neve a big fan of the fountains as they look a bit bizarre, but if you want to drown things in chocolate, they do work well…

  2. That is one impressive ballerina!

  3. Fabulous, I have to admit that my favourites are the orange dipped in chocolate, I find them VERY hard to resist when I walk past our local place!

  4. Nice event and smart Lenten excuse – I mean reprieve!

  5. Oh how I would love to see this!

  6. Tessa says:

    I love chocolate! They would have to drag me out of there…..

  7. bellacorea says:

    adorable!! my favorite is the orange slices dipped in dark chocolate..

  8. chefconnie says:

    Looks like it was fun. I agree with everyone else the oranges look enticing.

  9. Those orange slices look wonderful!

  10. Wish someone would do a Salon du Chocolat in my town!

  11. Yep, don’t think I’d miss an even like this for any reason!

  12. I like the cows too! And the mice are so adorable. I would have a hard time eating something so precious though.

    Wait . . . no I wouldn’t!

  13. Pingback: Strawberry Sunday | Cooking in Sens

  14. Karen says:

    It is always fun to see what people can create with chocolate. The ballerina was beautiful but I’d go for the chocolate covered oranges myself. I’m not into white chocolate.

  15. Whiskey River BBQ says:

    Ahhh Chocolate…a universal comfort food! Everything looks so devine, glad you shared this.

  16. alex says:

    what beautiful photos. I would like the chocolate dipped orange slice.

  17. Paula says:

    One of the things I most enjoy when I travel to France is chocolate!!! I have to stop to see it, I have to buy all I can, and, well, it’s a pity when you buy something so beautiful, but, I must eat it!! (Yeah, it’s a drama!!).
    I would like so much be there, a chocolate salon!!

Leave a Reply

