Irish Beef Stew with Colcannon

Other than Christmas, I haven’t really been blogging the holidays.  I guess I just couldn’t be bothered :)  But today, because this is my husband’s favorite holiday (He’s Irish American on both sides and owns an Irish passport) and he’s living in one of the armpits of the world, I’m making the food he loves best because I love him best.

I found this recipe at one of my new favorite sites, Bord Bia http://www.bordbia.ie/aboutfood/recipes/beef/Pages/BeefandStoutCasserolewithcolcannon.aspx, the Irish food board.  I’ve made both Irish stews and colcannon zillions of times but I liked the brown sugar and heavy onions in this rich, brown gravy.

I bought some beautiful beef steak from two ladies in the market who were just chortling over the exorbitant price I paid for it.  But it was worth it!

Beef and Stout Casserole with Colcannon

1 kilo beef steak, cut into cubes

2 tbsp olive oil

1 large onion, thinly sliced

2 cloves garlic, chopped

1 tbsp brown sugar

1 tbsp flour

125 ml Guinness

125 ml water

3 sprigs fresh thyme

1 tbsp red wine vinegar

1 tbsp mustard

1/4 tsp ground cloves

Salt and pepper

250 g fresh broccoli, separated into florets

1/2 head Savoy cabbage, thinly sliced

100g butter

2 tbsp water

1 kg potatoes, peeled and boiled in salted water

100 mls milk

Salt and white pepper

Brown the beef in the oil and place in the bottom of a tajine.  Cook the onions and garlic in the same pan until the onion is soft.  Add the flour and brown sugar, stirring until well blended.  Stir in the Guiness and water until smooth, then add the thyme, vinegar, mustard, cloves and some salt and pepper.  Pour the onion mixture over the top of the beef and stir to blend.  Cover and cook in a 350 F oven for 1 hour and 10 minutes.  Add the broccoli and continue to cook for 20 minutes.

Melt half the butter with the water in a saute pan.  Add the cabbage, cover and cook on high for 1 minute.  Stir,  remove from flame and set aside, covered.

Mash the potatoes with the remaining butter, milk, salt and white pepper.  Add the reserved cabbage and mix.  Adjust seasonings.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, Irish, Main dishes, Salad and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Irish Beef Stew with Colcannon

  1. Conor Bofin says:

    Nicely done.
    Happy St. Patrick’s Day from Dublin, Ireland.
    Best,
    Conor

  2. Just sent this one to my sister – much better St. Pat’s idea than corned beef and cabbage – in my humble opinion.

  3. Jon says:

    Very nice! Sláinte!

  4. Tessa says:

    HI Rosemary! I was trying to think of what to serve my sister and her family for dinner when they visit us tonight. Thanks for the help on this one. All I need is a can of Guinness and a couple of pounds of steak. Thank you for the inspiration and have a happy St. Patrick’s Day!

  5. Oh good, Tessa! Happy St. Pat’s and bon appetit!

  6. chefconnie says:

    This dish is all over the blogs right now and yours is hands down the best one. Very beautiful.

  7. Your colcannon looks beautiful. OK it all does. And you know I read Guinness and swoon. Or is that I drink Guinness and swoon.

  8. Thanks for following my blog. I hope you enjoy it as much as I enjoy yours!

  9. PlayingDorothy says:

    this looks delicious! I will definitely be trying this…

  10. Mmmmmm! I love the idea of stewing beef in Guiness.

    I think there must be something going around because both you, Karen at backroadjournal.wordpress.com, and me all blogged about colcannon at the same time ;-)

  11. Wonderful! Just the thing for the day.

  12. alex says:

    What a lovely wife! This looks, and sounds, delicious.

Leave a Reply

