Char Sui Chicken

Don’t you just love the new “views by country” stats at wordpress?  5 people from Poland looked at my blog today and 5 from Hungary!   Welcome Polish people!  Dzień dobry!  Welcome Hungarian people!  Üdvözlünk!

Anyway, when we first married, my husband was always trying to teach me about the tools and things he had in his tool box.  He would show them to me, name them and tell me how they were used.  Frankly, I wasn’t interested but because I really liked him and wanted him to be happy, I pretended to listen.  I’m really good at pretending to listen and got even better at it attending hundreds of cocktail parties and receptions.   I can also read in a room with the television on, people talking and children swinging from the rafters.  I learned to do this growing up in my family :)

While trying to figure out how to hang char sui pork in the oven http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2011/02/15/char-sui-chinese-barbecued-pork/, after a disastrous attempt with wire, I vaguely remembered my husband babbling on about “s” hooks those many years ago and so asked him if he had any of those.  The rest is culinary history.

I need a mini tripod if I’m going to take oven pictures, obviously.  Notice I managed to work in the quail eggs :)  Marcus is making his own http://countrywoodsmoke.wordpress.com/

Char Sui Chicken

10 chicken thighs, boned, skin on

1 jar char sui sauce or make your own

Put the chicken thighs in a zip lock bag, pour the jar of sauce over, squish around and refrigerate for 2 hours or overnight whichever is better for you.

Place an oven rack in the very top of the oven and a roasting pan covered with aluminum foil in the bottom to catch the grease and juices.  “S” hook each thigh and suspend from the rack, over the pan.  Roast at 350 F for about 35 minutes.

When you are ready to remove the hooked meat, take a long handled cooking fork and release the hooks with the tines, allowing the hooks and meat to tumble into the roasting pan below.  I’m just saying.

Beverage suggestion:  Not more than 2 shots of frozen Stolichnaya

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Asian, Cooking, Food and Wine, Japanese, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Char Sui Chicken

  1. Thank you Roger. I’m ordering one today!

  2. Mini tripods and a remote can help get really sharp images in tight spaces, or I max out the iso setting.
    Great recipe, and looks so appetising. Thanks too for the mention. Will be posting updates on the quail. My son was so excited this morning, but doesn’t understand he must wait a couple of weeks.
    Cheers
    Marcus

  3. Omg. S-hooks!!!!!!!!! I am going to the hardware store right now and I am going to make this! The chicken breast is skin on, right?

    I am so excited to try this!!!!!

  4. Wicked post, Rosemary! I’ve had 3 from Thailand today and had 5 from Israel yesterday… mad one. I’ve been to Poland and Hungary – you’d love them if you haven’t been.

  5. chefconnie says:

    I have S hooks. I was wondering how you did that. This is definately going in the recipe box.

  6. Hi from the exotic Southern states of America! This looks awesome.

  7. Tessa says:

    Using the “S” hooks in the oven is brilliant. Love it. Next time I’m at Home Depot, I’m snagging a few! Thanks for the idea!

  8. rsmacaalay says:

    I never tried to make chicken charsui, looks like a great replacement for pork.

  9. Great idea to use the S hooks – I’m curious though, why do you need to have them hanging?

    • Hi Bryan and YiRan. You don’t really need to hang them but that is the traditional method and I like the idea of the juices running down, basting the meat. If you prefer, cook them in a roasting pan with a rack.

  10. Andiamo! says:

    Ohhhh what a dish! And the pix are sweeet!
    I’m doing Char Sui with pork of course.. But the chicken is an easy and tasty way to vary some flavors.

    A.

  11. Pingback: Cooking | Pearltrees

  12. dulceest says:

    Making this tonight for dinner!
    :D!

  13. AvocadoPesto says:

    Wow great idea using the S hooks to hang the chicken in the oven!

  14. Thank you for your comments. S hooking is fun :)

Leave a Reply

