Thai Sea Bream with Udon Noodles

I’ve made this plate before with dorade royale or French sea bream and it was just as good or maybe better than the last time.  Pretty much, you can’t go wrong with fresh, correctly cooked fish.

Today I had my sous chef Bandit with me as I assembled the ingredients for the sauce.  She knows good fish when she smells it and provided excellent advice on what to do with the fish head after preparation.

I like the little, yellow racing stripe on the noses of these fish.  Elegant.

Thai Sea Bream with Udon Noodles

1 cup of fresh coriander

3 large cloves of garlic, chopped

2 de-seeded red scotch bonnets

1 inch of fresh ginger sliced

1/3 cup of water

1 tbsp lime juice

1 tbsp soy sauce

2 tbsp fish sauce

2 tbsp brown sugar

1/2 red or green bell pepper, diced

Chop the coriander, garlic, scotch bonnets and ginger in a food processor, about 8 pulses.   Put the water, lime juice, soy sauce, fish sauce and brown sugar in a sauce pan and bring to a boil.  Add the chopped vegetables and diced bell pepper and cook for about 3 minutes on medium flame.  Set aside.

Score fish and squeeze lime juice on both sides and in the cavity.   Salt, and allow to rest for about 15 minutes.   Pat dry with paper towels.   Deep fry the fish in about 1 cup of vegetable oil, 4-5 minutes per side.   Garnish with cucumbers, coriander, sliced red peppers and serve with udon noodles.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Asian, Cooking, fish, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes, Thai and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Thai Sea Bream with Udon Noodles

  1. Very good dish indeed – great flavours.

  2. Perfect, I love Sea Bream with a Thai dressing. And your sous chef certainly has a look that say’s I know what’s for dinner.

  3. Thank you promenade. Bandit is always ready to assist in food preparation :)

  4. This way o cooking a whole fish is one of my favourites, and reminds me of thai holidays.
    Beautiful photos as usual, thanks for sharing this lovely meal.
    Cheers
    Marcus

  5. This looks absolutely stunning and the thai flavours with the sea bream sound really delicious. Can’t wait to try it, just wish I had a sous chef as keen to help out as Bandit.

  6. That really is a beautiful fish and you have, as you usually do, done it justice. Fantastic – I miss eating fish. Though, I don’t know why I’ve not been eating it… I really must!

  7. Karen says:

    That is a beautiful plate of fish, Rosemary.

  8. Conor Bofin says:

    Another cracking recipe. I first encountered the Dorade at the fish stalls on the quay in Port La Nouvelle on the south coast. The fish was fresh as one buys it from the guy who caught it that morning. Excellent system and great value.

    • I would love to be able to get the fish straight from the fisherman. No wait, what am I saying?! I’d have to clean it! You almost had me there for a moment Conor.

  9. Great recipe, which shows that delicious fish recipes don’t need to be difficult.

  10. chefconnie says:

    Oh Fabulous as usual. Love the Thai influence.

  11. That fish looks beautiful and the cat in the background is too funny. My dogs are always trying to be sous chefs.

  12. Gorgeous! And the expression on Bandit? Priceless!

  13. AvocadoPesto says:

    Looks delicious. Definitely want to try this. I never used to cook whole fish before but after falling in love with Marco Pierre White’s Asian Steamed Branzini recipe I’ve been looking for more whole fish recipes!

Leave a Reply

