Frugal Veal Cottage Pie

I woke up this morning thinking that Jade and I would swing by the fishmonger to see what we could find for today’s lunch/dinner.  But when I looked in the refrigerator, I couldn’t help but notice yesterday’s leftover veal roast and brussel sprouts  http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2012/03/06/veal-roast-with-peppers/ and I asked myself, “What would Frugal do?”http://frugalfeeding.wordpress.com/ and didn’t like the answer :)

Nevertheless, I postponed the visit to our favorite vendor until tomorrow and decided to recycle the veal because I thought it would be fun, and it was.  I cut the leftover roast into cubes, put a little oil in a pan, warmed the cubes, sprinkled them with flour and browned everything for a few minutes.  Next, I added the rich leftover wine sauce with the onions and peppers, stirring to blend with the veal.  When the sauce began to thicken into a gravy, I added the brussel sprouts, salt and pepper.

I put the stew into ramekins and covered it with fresh, buttery mashed potatoes.

A few minutes in a hot oven to brown the potatoes did the trick.  Jade really liked this because she said she liked the surprise of biting into the still crisp brussel sprouts after the tender chunks of veal.  What would Frugal do indeed!

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Frugal Veal Cottage Pie

  1. Tessa says:

    What a beautiful use of leftovers!

  2. Karista says:

    Fabulous idea Sens! Stew and potatoes… Two of my family’s favorites.

  3. Now there’s a good recipe. I very much like cottage pie, although I haven’t eaten it in years. It travels under the name of nursery food, which seems to be the food that has made the English aristocracy what it is. If ever there was a time to stop eating nursery food, it’s now.

  4. I do enjoy your on going “conversation/recipe/thing you have with Frugal it always makes me smile ! I’m now looking forward to seeing what fish you cook up for us :)

  5. Michelle says:

    Frugal or not, that looks great. Almost worth making a roast for, just to get the leftovers.

  6. Where’s all this abuse coming from all of a sudden? :D. There’s something you simply must realise, Rosemary; what Frugal would do is almost always the best decision. I’m so glad you didn’t waste that veal, it would have been in incredibly bad taste. If there’s only one thing I can take away from having started my blog, I’d happily have it be the fact that you’ve become a little more frugal… it’s an uphill struggle though :D

  7. That does look frugal approved. For what it’s worth it’s Rufus approved to.

  8. Looks terrific! What a great way to use up leftover veal roast But I think you forgot to add how many p that fresh parsley sprig cost you ;-)

  9. Villy says:

    I hate wasting food (I rarely do), I feel so guilty.. This is a perfect example of what you can do with some imagination! :)

  10. Meenakshi says:

    Looks hearty and delicious! You know, I don’t think I have ever had veal. Must try it.

  11. Yum. I think if you can cook with leftovers you can really cook.

  12. Pingback: Romanian veal sour soup | Chef Doru's Blog

  13. Rebecca West says:

    I made this tonight to use up some of my own veal leftovers! I made a gravy with chicken broth and used carrots, onions and mushrooms in the stew. So wonderful! Thanks for the suggestion.

Leave a Reply

