Texas Ribs and Potato Salad

One of my boys came to see me this weekend, Master Sergeant John Alen, U.S. Marine Corps with his bride of 5 months, Natalie Alen.

John was commanding gunnery sergeant (Gunny) for the Marine corps detachment tasked with guarding the U.S. Embassy in Bamako, Mali.  The personification of what a Marine should be; leader, gentleman, fellow Texan and good ole boy, John is someone I’ll always be proud to know.  Even though he’s just a little bit of a cut up, I love him still :)

In honor of their visit, I made Texas ribs and potato salad.  And as always, if I’ve got one of my boys in town,  I’m too busy looking and talking to take photography seriously.

We paid the customary visit to M. and Mme Parret to share a couple of glasses of Cremant and their good company.

Natalie is such a beautiful woman!  John got lucky there, boy howdy!  I couldn’t have chosen better myself.

On Sunday, we took the train into Paris for a quick look at Notre Dame and the Louvre.  I took almost no pictures but I had an exceptional duck breast with orange sauce for lunch that I’m certainly going to try to duplicate!

For the ribs and potato salad http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2011/12/23/jacques-does-ribs/

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Texas Ribs and Potato Salad

  1. What are you talking about? Those pictures are great!

  2. Nice post, but who is the dude with the long hair?

  3. Tessa says:

    Lovely photos and family!

  4. I see why you weren’t blogging – fair enough :D. This sounds wonderful. Your photography really is still lovely.

  5. I agree, really nice photography and family! :)

  6. John says:

    Best ribs, tater salad and company I’ve ever had! Thanks again Rose for a fun two days!!!! Much love!!!

  7. Karen says:

    It is always so much fun to have family around and I’m sure that the ribs and potato salad had everyone smiling. I would be…that’s for sure.

Leave a Reply

