Bacon, Spinach and Feta Frittata

I was really excited about my version of the frittata that I saw over at the Irish Food Board(Bord Bia)http://www.bordbia.ie/aboutfood/recipes/eggs/pages/italianfrittata.aspx until I saw Roger Stowell’s blog post today http://stowell.wordpress.com/2012/03/02/bring-back-the-birch/.  Here I am “cooking cute” and taking pictures of omelettes, while he’s over there painting with his camera.  Wrong life choice?  Oh ko!  I recited the Litany Against Fear and moved on.

My husband is always telling me that I have too much kitchen stuff but that’s not true because other than my black skillet and my tajines, I don’t have a pretty skillet that will go from the stove top to the oven.  Bugger! (Thanks c) That’s why I had to finish my frittata in a pie plate.  I won’t tell you how I did it because it was too nerve racking.  Most of you probably have the right skillet(maybe not Frugal), so I’ll just give you the Bord Bia’s instructions.  Their skillet wasn’t that great looking :)

Don’t you just love spinach and peppers and onions and well, just vegetables in general?  I do :)

Bacon, Spinach and Feta Frittata

1/2 cup bacon, diced

2 tbsp olive oil

1 onion, cut in half and sliced

3 garlic cloves, chopped

1 red bell pepper, diced big

2 handfuls of spinach, torn

8 eggs, beaten

2 tbsp basil, chopped

1/2 cup feta, crumbled

Cook the bacon in the oil until it begins to brown.  Add the onion, garlic, pepper and saute until the onion is soft.  Mix in the spinach and remove from the flame.

Mix the eggs with the basil, then add to the skillet and cook until just set.  Sprinkle with the feta and finish cooking under the oven broiler.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, Irish, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Bacon, Spinach and Feta Frittata

  1. Just one of the best snack lunches.

  2. ceciliag says:

    Bugger! ha ha ha.. and exactly right, bugger is very low key and with an ah well sigh, and this is a perfect fritatta, Why I had not thought to add feta i do not know, that tangy richness would be splendid. i shall make this soon.. good morning! c

  3. What a perfect spring lunch, I just need my lazy ducks to start laying again, even the geese are laying now.
    Feta goes great with eggs.
    Cheers
    Marcus

  4. Ha ha to biugger! I’m pleased Celi is teaching the world to swear :)

  5. Tessa says:

    Your frittata looks wonderful. My husband complained that I have too much kitchen stuff too. And I don’t even own a tagine yet…

  6. Villy says:

    Feta makes everything fantastic! (says the Greek) :)

  7. Lovely, it looks wonderful and I don´t think I have an oven to stovetop skillet either…(bugger!)

  8. Jon says:

    Great pictures and frittatas are great. I don’t remember where I picked it up but ong ago someone taught me how to make one with leftover pasta. My kids dig that one.

  9. Im going to go make something very similar to this right now!

  10. Checked my blog this morning and saw the comment from you (thank you). Then I went to the store to pick up a few ingredients for my bacon, spinach and feta tarts, which I’m bringing to a dinner party tomorrow. Returned to find the alert about your blog post for bacon, spinach and feta frittata! We must be kindred souls.

    P.S. Your pictures are great, so I don’t understand your hesitation. In fact, your great photos inspired me to go back and replace a few below-average ones on my blog. See, we all have a higher standard to strive for :-)

  11. Oi! Actually, I do :D. This looks delicious, Rosemary :D.

  12. Anastasia says:

    This look delicious! And you ARE very good with your camera! I really like your shots!

  13. This looks and sounds amazing! Awesome photos.

  14. Fay says:

    For stove-top to oven, my camping gear works fine: the old cast-iron skillet. Not pretty, but functional. Another very appetizing dish, Rosemary. Sometimes what strikes me the most about your photos is not just the food, and the presentation, but the fine light you capture.

  15. Mmmmm, this looks so good. And I have all the ingredients in the fridge…… I’m thinking Sunday brunch!

  16. Never pick sides in marital battles. OK, forget that. One can’t have too much kitchen stuff. This looks light and rich at the same time.

  17. Karen says:

    No matter how you accomplished the frittata, it is beautiful on the plate and that is all that counts. Of course flavor, but you always have that covered.

  18. rsmacaalay says:

    Ohhhh, I would love this for breakfast!

  19. It doesn’t count? Fine, I shall have to find myself a suitably rustic pan which can be used on the hob AND in the oven. P.S. Where have you gone? I miss my daily update from Sens.

  20. Pingback: Foodie Friday: Breakfast in a Pinch | Your One Birth

Leave a Reply

