Japanese Chicken Wings

I don’t understand why, but bulk chicken wings are difficult to find in the supermarkets.  The French must have some sort of “chicken wing terrine” that gobbles up all the available chicken wings but only seasonally :)  “Not the chicken wing terrine season, Pierre.  What are we going to do with all these chicken wings?”  “Well Jean,  just put them out there for the American.  She’ll take them.”  I should have gotten more.

Ito Eats http://itoeats.blogspot.com/2011/02/at-home-japanese-sticky-chicken-wings.html had a wonderful chicken wing recipe with my favorite ingredients for a Japanese marinade.  I also like reading his blog as he eats his way around London.  London is a great city for both traditional and exotic eating!  Too, I love their museums.  I would like to go there this summer but it will probably be Germany.  Beer and bratwurst.  Okay, I can do that :)  But in the meantime…

Japanese Chicken Wings 

1 1/2 tbsp mirin

4 tbsp sake

2 tbsp brown sugar

4 tbsp tamari soy sauce

1 inch fresh ginger, grated

3 cloves garlic, slivered

1 red chilli, sliced

2-3 lbs chicken wings, separated at the joint

Mix all ingredients together and put in a zip lock bag with chicken wings.  Put in the refrigerator for at least 2 hours or overnight.

Roast the chicken wings at 400 degree F for 20 minutes.  Turn, baste with marinade from the bag and continue to roast for another 15 minutes.  Garnish with sliced scallions, chilli and sesame seeds.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Asian, Cooking, Food and Wine, Japanese, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Japanese Chicken Wings

  1. It’s so weird reading what you can and can’t find in France. Charles makes similar comments. Judging from what you plate up, I’d say you do pretty good. These look fantastic.

  2. Fantastic marinade – I must remember to get the next visitor from London to bring over some Mirin.

  3. It is odd what you can find and what simply doesn’t seem to exist. I’m currently on the hunt for rice flour at the moment. And now I’ve seen your recipe and the marinade I want chicken wings, oh well I’ll have to wait till I go home!

  4. Tessa says:

    There is a similar chicken wing problem where I live. Chicken wings used to be cheap and easy to find at the store. A tray of wings now will set me back about 10 bucks. Next time I buy wings, I will make this recipe. Looks great! Thanks!

  5. This looks absolutely exquisite – in Britain we generally get pack of wings and thighs combined. I was thinking about doing something with thighs soon – the meat close to the bone is always the best :D

  6. Anastasia says:

    Oh, these look so good!

  7. Have just added Mirin to my shopping list for when I go to London next week! Funnily enough we CAN get chicken wings here – I wonder what on earth they do with them in France?! Love glaze and makes a nice change from my usual bbq.

  8. chefconnie says:

    I feel lucky here in Boulder. Our whole foods has some fantastic Bell and Evans Chicken Wings for dirt cheap. I just bought a big tray last night for 5 bucks. Very lovely recipe.

  9. Beautiful wings and a terrific sounding marinade. Suppose they use them all for stock in France? Hmmm. Kinda strange, but am sure there’s some logical reason they aren’t readily available.

  10. Oh my gosh! This looks so delicious–I must try this out!

  11. myfudo says:

    My husband loves chicken wings. I am sure this new twist will really be a big hit for him. Thanks for sharing!

  12. 2peasandapot says:

    Looks really good. A little sick of standard wings, and this is a nice take. The guy in the Times did something similar w/ thighs, which was also pretty good, but who doesn’t like a good wing? Nice!

  13. I used to make wings like this but lost the recipe. This version looks even better, and will be a perfect party dish…thanks!

  14. Just noticed your link love – thank you! I’m a ‘she’ by the way… Glad I’ve discovered your blog. Laura (aka itoeats).

Leave a Reply

