Crispy Veal Sweetbreads with Roquefort Dressing

The first time I worked with sweetbreads I was very nervous but determined to attempt something outside of my area of expertise.  When I made Dave’s Sweetbread Terrine  http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2011/04/30/i-poached-daves-sweetbread-terrine/, I couldn’t get veal sweetbreads so I settled for lamb sweetbreads and they turned out fine.  The veal sweetbreads for today proved to be a little “bulkier” than the lamb but more akin to the rich and  creamy sweetbreads from Le Volant Restaurant http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2011/04/26/le-volant-restaurant-offaly-good-food/.  Anyway, we were pleased.

The Papillon roquefort dressing I made was the perfect compliment to both the salad and sweetbreads.  The great thing about food blogging is that it forces me to write down what I’ve done and if I forget, I can just check my blog posts :)  I’m making this again!

Crispy Veal Sweetbreads with Roquefort Dressing

1/2 cup Papillon roquefort cheese, crumbled

Juice 1/2 lemon

2 green onions, thinly sliced

1 celery branch, halved vertically and thinly sliced

1/2 cup mayonnaise

Salt and pepper

2lbs veal sweetbreads

Juice 1 lemon

1 cup buttermilk

1 cup flour

1/2 cup bread crumbs

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp pepper

2 tsp paprika

1 tsp garlic powder

Mix the cheese, lemon juice, green onions, celery, mayonnaise together and add salt and pepper to taste.  Refrigerate.

Soak the sweetbreads in cold water overnight, drain and place in a large pot with the juice of 1 lemon and water to cover.  Bring to a boil and simmer for 3 minutes.  Drain the sweetbreads and immediately plunge into an ice water bath.  Drain again, put into a bowl with the buttermilk and refrigerate for 1 hour or so.

Mix the flour, crumbs, salt, pepper, paprika and garlic powder together.  Remove the sweetbreads from the buttermilk and dredge in the flour mixture.  Deep fry until golden brown.  Serve with mixed salad greens and the roquefort dressing.

Wine suggestion:  Yellow Tail Chardonnay

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Crispy Veal Sweetbreads with Roquefort Dressing

  1. Wouldn’t be a dish appreciated by 100% of the La Moussiere team, but I’d love it. Nice recipe.

  2. I’ve never tried sweetbreads, but would love to try these, they look amazing.
    Great ingredient to use.
    Cheers
    Marcus

  3. cjdelgrosso says:

    Having never tried sweetbreads (I confess to being quite intimidated by them!), this certianly looks like one I would definitely attempt. The photos are just amazing. Great job!

  4. Delicious post! Your photos are beautiful too. Stop by and say hi :)

  5. Anastasia says:

    Gorgeous photography!

  6. Yes, please! Sweetbreads are pretty much my favorite thing in the world to eat. Yummy, yummy, yummy, yummy.

    I love seeing that there is someone in the world who isn’t intimidated by cooking them at home! Kudos!

  7. Oh now that’s different – never had these before but now I’ve got this way of cooking them I really do have to give them a try!

  8. I’d definitely be tentative about try these. Then again, I’ve never heard a bad word about them. Perhaps I ought to get over my shyness about sweetbreads… they must be cheap :D

  9. I’ve eaten sweetbreads but never cooked them myself….this recipe is tempting me to try!

  10. We’ve had wonderful sweetbreads and not so wonderful ones. I bet yours are in the first category.

  11. Michelle says:

    Those look fabulous!

  12. Tessa says:

    I love sweetbreads! It looks like you cooked them perfectly.

  13. Like many others here, I am a sweetbreads fan! They look so good and as for that dressing..mmmm.

  14. rsmacaalay says:

    I love to nibble on this with a good beer!

  15. Pingback: Herbed Magret de Canard Salad with Pears and Roquefort Dressing | Cooking in Sens

  16. Pingback: Buttery Oven Baked Chicken Wings | Cooking in Sens

Leave a Reply

