Duck Breast in Red Wine Sauce with Two Mushrooms

Duck breasts were on sale at Leclerc in packs of 3.  I bought 2 packs for the freezer :)

I can’t seem to comment on others’ posts.  I can like them but my comments don’t come through.  Does anyone know what’s wrong?  Nice bread frugal   http://frugalfeeding.wordpress.com/2012/02/26/rosemary-and-sea-salt-fougasse/

Wanting to make a light supper, I simply combined Paris and oyster mushrooms to accompany the duck breasts and served with slices of country bread.  Inspiration for this meal was Bon Appetit’s  October 2011 issue featuring hanger steak.

Duck Breasts in Wine Sauce with Two Mushrooms

1/2 lb Paris mushrooms, sliced

1/2 lb oyster mushrooms, torn

3 tbsp olive oil

Salt and pepper

3 tbsp butter

2 garlic cloves, crushed

2 sprigs fresh rosemary

2 duck breasts, fat scored and seasoned with cracked peppercorns and salt

1 cup red wine

3/4 cup veal or chicken broth

2 tbsp chopped fresh tarragon

Cook the mushrooms in the olive oil until golden.  Season with salt and pepper, remove from the pan and set aside.

Add 1 tbsp butter, garlic, rosemary and duck to the pan and sear, about 3 minutes per side.  Remove the duck and let rest on a cutting board.  Pour off all but 1 tbsp of the fat, discard the garlic and rosemary, add the wine and reduce the liquid by half.

Add the broth, bring to a boil, then simmer for 5 minutes.  Remove from the flame, whisk in the remaining 2 tbsp butter, stir in the the mushrooms and tarragon.

Slice the duck breasts and serve on top of the mushrooms.


About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Duck Breast in Red Wine Sauce with Two Mushrooms

  1. Mmmm, nice glass of pinot noir with that for me, you come up with such beautiful mouthwatering meals, very inspiring.
    Cheers
    Marcus

  2. The system will not let you comment unless you are logged onto WordPress. Also, every now and then, people disable either the Like or the Comment feature on a particular post (inadvertently, most of the time).

  3. Tessa says:

    Beautiful dish! I just adore duck. I never had Paris mushrooms before. They look very similar to cremini but lighter in color. As far as your comment question goes… I have not a clue why you can’t post. I find that so odd. Maybe “google” the question and see if there’s an answer out there. Good luck!

  4. Jon says:

    Beautiful plate and I love both duck and mushrooms, definitely something to try. I occasionally make magret with an agave honey glaze, more earthy than sweet.

  5. Thanks, Rosemary. I always love a mention from you. This looks great. Essentially a duck bourguignon, but cooked in a vastly different manner – much lighter I expect! Om nom nom.

  6. This looks beautifully delicious! I just made a coq au vin the other day and it further reinforced my love of french cooking. Your duck course with the wine and mushrooms sounds perfect.

  7. This is such a classy dish! I am bookmarking it to impress my boyfriend with:]

  8. rsmacaalay says:

    Wow that duck is perfectly cooked!

  9. cjdelgrosso says:

    This is wonderful. Duck is one of my favorites although I do not get to make it too much (I do not have a kitchen hood!)

  10. Looks beautiful. The duck looks perfect! And your post makes me miss France so much: where else in the world does duck breast go on sale!

  11. Conor Bofin says:

    The three packs of big, fat duck breast are as French as fine Bordeaux wine or the Eifel Tower. I am having difficulty getting anything half decent here in Ireland to slow cook on the pan. France in July. Can’t wait.
    Best,
    Conor

  12. a stunning dish. We don´t get duck breast very often round here, but next time I see some will snap them up so that I can make this!

  13. Fay says:

    Rosemary, what a beautiful dish. This is a test. I too have had terrible troubles with comments lately. WordPress has been putting my comments in the spam file when I try to comment on a WordPress blog after logging out of WordPress. When trying to comment using my new TypePad url on the identity line, it does not work. We shall see. – Fay

  14. Pingback: 15 Famous Quali and Duck Recipes

  15. Pingback: 15 Luscious Meats With Red Wine Sauce

  16. Pingback: 10 Luscious Meats With Red Wine Sauce | Pin Food Pictures

  17. Pingback: 10 Luscious Meats With Red Wine Sauce | Crazy Food Blog

Leave a Reply

