Mussels and Almandes de Mer

Well he’s going back to Southern Sudan, so I thought I’d pull out all stops.  No seafood to be had from the Nile river.

And anyway, I’ve been wanting to do something with these clam-like almandes de mer .  We ate a couple of them raw.  Primo!

Veuve Cliquot.  Nuff said!

Mussels and Almandes de Mer

1 onion chopped

3 garlic cloves, chopped

1 red bell pepper, chopped

3 tbsp olive oil

2 quarts small mussels

1 lb almandes de mer or small clams

1/2 cup white wine

2 tomatoes, seeded and chopped

2 tbsp fresh parsley, chopped

Saute the onion, garlic and bell pepper in the olive oil until the onion is soft.  Add the mussels and almandes de mer and saute for 1 minute, add the white wine, cover and cook for 5 minutes.  Remove from the flame and add the tomatoes and parsley.

Wine suggestion:  Cremant or Champagne

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Mussels and Almandes de Mer

  1. Karen says:

    Nuff said is right. I know he really appreciated the fresh seafood. The dish looks delicious and with Veuve Cliquot what could be better.

  2. Lovely still lives – and a pretty delicious lunch.

  3. What a beautiful meal, and a wonderful send off, as someone who works away from his wife, I know how special these last treasured moments are together, and I know he will take memory of this meal with him on his travels.
    Cheers
    Marcus

  4. Looks great! I was also salivating over your china…

  5. That’s a great send-off meal! So simple and and oozing taste

  6. You’re too sweet. This really is pulling out all the stops.

  7. rsmacaalay says:

    Looks like a very flavourful dish! Mmmmmmm

  8. Lucky chap. This looks amazing, Rosemary. I love mussels. So much! I shall have to do something with them soon. I know they’re not necessarily frugal, but I don’t think I can resist any longer. You may like the bread I intend to post later today… It’s, supposedly, French! :D

  9. ceciliag says:

    quite divine. and i have to say rosemary that whenever my internet is working at speed so i can get over to your neck of the woods i am always thrilled. I almost never have the ingredients you have, so visiting really is a chance to feast with my eyes! these mussels are a case in point! c

  10. Mussels and veuve cliquot…that’s love!

  11. If I were leaving for Southern Sudan, I would want to eat this! It looks fantastic, Rosemary. Your husband is a very lucky guy!

    (beautiful champagne coupes too!)

    btw, did you manage to work out the comments thing? Sometimes I send a message to wordpress support when I run into something that I can’t figure out . . .

  12. cjdelgrosso says:

    Reblogged this on The DelGrosso Food Blog and commented:
    This weeks reblog comes from a great food blog Cooking in Sens. I love mussels and searched for a recipe to reblog and share with all of you. Mussels are so simple to prepare but oh so elegant to serve. Her recipe is no exception, a few fresh ingredients and such a stunning result! Enjoy!

  13. Bryan says:

    Oh my, I love mussels! We get them off PEI around here, they taste amazing. This is my to-do list, thanks!

Leave a Reply

