Veal Chops Smothered in Onions and Grilled Peppers

This is a quick and easy dish I put together using one of my stove top tajines.  A skillet with a cover would work as well.

Veal Chops Smothered in Onions and Grilled Peppers

4 veal chops

Salt and pepper

1 tbsp butter

1 tbsp olive oil

1 onion, sliced

3 garlic cloves, slivered

2-3 grilled bell peppers, cut into strips

1/2 cup white wine

2 tsp tomato paste

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp pepper

Season the chops with salt and pepper, then brown in the oil and butter.  Remove and set aside.  Add the onion and garlic, cooking until the onion is soft, then add the bell peppers, wine, tomato paste, salt, pepper, stirring to blend.  Place the chops on top of the vegetables, cover and cook for 15 minutes.  Serve with fresh spaghetti.

Wine suggestion:  Brouilly

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Veal Chops Smothered in Onions and Grilled Peppers

  1. That looks literally incredible, Rosemary. Where have a frugal sensibilities gone? :D

  2. Looks great. Also last night we had red wine with chicken!

  3. Tessa says:

    That looks wonderful! After seeing all the gorgeous dishes that you make, I think that I need to get my hands on a tajine… Any recommendations?

  4. cjdelgrosso says:

    looks delicious, great post!

  5. This plate is so lovely! Veal is something I rarely eat, but I am thinking I may need to try this.

  6. rsmacaalay says:

    Very nice quick and easy meal

  7. katyarich says:

    I looks so good that makes me hungry!

  8. katyarich says:

    It looks so good that makes me hungry!

  9. Amrita says:

    What a lovely dish this is! Almost reminds me of beef bourguignon but, I’m sure the veal makes for a delightful, tender meat here. I was just looking at some veal cubes at the market today and you’ve inspired me to get some the next time I go.

  10. You had me with the word “smothered”! Looks wonderful.

Leave a Reply

