Jamie’s Fish, Chips and Mushy Peas

This morning Daisy at Cool Cook Style http://coolcookstyle.com/ informed me that my blog had been featured at What’s Cook In http://www.whatscook.in/articles/what-weve-been-reading-3091/.   Mah-velous!  Thank you Daisy.  Thank you What’s Cook In!  Okay, one more Jamie from the budget issue.  Only 1 pound 19 per serving.  I can’t help it.  I think I’ve become, gasp, a Jamie Oliver groupie.

There are several things I liked about Jamie’s fish and chip recipe; No frying, 3 different chip flavors, an opportunity to try mushy peas which I’ve never had and I just happened to have some unopened malt vinegar languishing in the cupboard since my last “buy everything that you think you might ever need” shopping trip.  See, I was right!

I like peas and mushy peas are good!  The yogurt and mint really compliments them.  Don’t use those sugary sweet peas.  Bleah!  For the fish, I used cabillaud or cod but use whatever you like for fried fish.  My chips were really big.  I think I need a chip cutter or something.  But they were fabulous!  Roasted carrot, sweet and plain potato.  Brilliant  Sunday lunch!

Fish, Chips and Mushy Peas

1 lb frozen peas

Juice of 1 lemon

1/2 bunch mint leaves

1/2 cup plain yogurt

2 sweet potatoes, 2 carrots, 2 potatoes cut into wedges

1 1/2 tbsp olive oil

Salt and pepper

4 cod fillets

2 eggs, beaten

Flour

Bread crumbs

Cook the peas in boiling, salted water for 2 minutes, then drain.  In a food processor, blitz the peas, lemon juice and mint until mushy but still with texture.  Just before serving, reheat and stir in the yogurt.

Toss the potatoes and carrots with the olive oil, salt, pepper and roast in a preheated 400 degree F oven for about 45 minutes, stirring half way.

Season the fillets with salt and pepper, coat with flour, beaten eggs then bread crumbs.  Put on an oiled baking sheet and put in the oven with the vegetables for the last 15-20 minutes.

Serve with malt vinegar.

Wine suggestion:  I’ve had a number of corrections on my wine choices for my blog meals. Of course I don’t pretend to be a wine connoisseur, far from it.  Ask M. Parret.  My suggestions are based on what I’m drinking and enjoying with the food.  Today I’m drinking Veuve Cliquot.  Joyfully.  My husband’s coming tomorrow!  If you would really like to know the “correct” wine to have with one of my recipes, ask Roger   http://stowell.wordpress.com/, he knows.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, English, fish, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Jamie’s Fish, Chips and Mushy Peas

  1. Jut eaten some of those chips with breaded chicken fillets – very good.

  2. Very nice, Rosemary! All it took was a rather incredible food writer and Jamie Oliver to encourage you into frugal feeding :D. However, I’m rather disappointed you used cod when there are far cheaper white fish out there that have just as much flavour and body. Coley, Pollack and Whiting are the way forward ;). But, I hate to be negative, so I must sum this comment up with something positive – those mushy peas actually look appetising, this may sound like a rather back handed comment, but I’ve never seen mushy peas that look like anything other than vomit. So, to go from that to appetising is a massive leap and a massive compliment :D

  3. Champagne with fish and chips sounds perfect to me, a great healthy meal. And husband coming home, lots to celebrate.
    Cheers
    Marcus

  4. Wine pairing is very subjective. If you wanted to pair a heavy cab with this or drink brandy straight from the bottle, hey that wouldn’t be my cup of tea, but more power to you. Plus, sometimes you open the bottle and the flavor profile isn’t what you expected anyway. But in any case this meal looks wonderful. Love the pea recipe in particular.

  5. Yes Marcus. It was fun but I was just slumming :)

  6. Oh Frugal! You’re my favorite!

  7. Lovely, I was hoping to make something light tonight and this has inspired me. I’m thinking I should find some pollack;) to crumb and bake! xo Smidge

  8. I like that the fish is baked, but looks nice and crispy! I always thought “mushy peas” was a somewhat unfortunate name even though they are just mushed up peas. Your peas look amazing with their pert little mint sprig!

    As for wine pairings, bravo for drinking champagne with it. I always say that fizzy goes with fried! Or baked in this case ;-)

    And thanks for the mention and the link!

  9. Yeah Daisy, my kind of girl!

  10. Michelle says:

    Bravo all around! And, I love it when the comments are as interesting as the post. Drink what you want. Just keep taking those beautiful photos. I always thought mushy peas sounded revolting, but you’ve totally changed my opinion.

  11. rsmacaalay says:

    Great healthy variation of the classic fish and chips!

  12. Congrats on being featured and as for mushy peas and chips with malt vinegar…heaven! You certainly have got value out of the Jamie Magazine and anyone who can drink Veuve Cliquot with Fish, Chips and Mushy Peas is a “Dead Classy Chick” as far as I´m concerned!

  13. Meenakshi says:

    Yummy! Thanks for sharing this. I have been wanting to make mushy peas for a while, and now I have the recipe!

Leave a Reply

