Pappardelle with Roquette and Walnut Pesto

I love it that you can buy fresh pasta from the supermarket.  In the 70s when I was in Les Cayes, Haiti, the only way I could have lasagna noodles was to make them, and all I had was a rolling pin.  That was true slave labor, but the noodles were delicious!  However, that ruined homemade pasta for me and even when I got all the pasta machines etc., I still felt like somebody’s Mammy and eventually sold the pasta paraphernalia at a garage sale.  My motto:  If it’s not fun and/or necessary, don’t bother.  Thank you Leclerc supermarket!

Anyway, I’ve been wanting to try the pappardelle pasta.  I usually go in for the smaller, delicate pastas like linguine or tagliatelle and avoid bulky pastas like penne.  But what the heck, it looked interesting, I’d never had it before and it was surprisingly a light pasta, just wide.  Also there was all that roquette in the refrigerator to get through.

Delicious!  The inspiration for the pesto came from http://www.taste.com.au/recipes/22948/pappardelle+with+rocket+pesto.  I think I will be using this pesto recipe a lot!

Roquette and Walnut Pesto

2 cups roquette

1/3 cup walnuts

1/4 cup basil

2 tbsp pine nuts

2 tsp parmesan, grated

2 large garlic cloves, chopped

1/2 cup olive oil

Salt and pepper

Chop the roquette, walnuts, basil, pine nuts, parmesan and garlic in a food processor.  With the motor running, pour in the oil in a thin stream until the mixture is smooth and incorporated.  Season with salt and pepper.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Australian, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Pappardelle with Roquette and Walnut Pesto

  1. I like it too, it is handy! Though, I have found a really impressive version of dried pappardelle where I live. Linguine is my favourite type of pasta, but this type is certainly up there! Lovely recipe and a great sounding pesto :D. I may have to try my hand at anon-traditional pesto soon.

  2. Tessa says:

    Beautiful pesto!

  3. I wish our store sold fresh pasta!

  4. Amrita says:

    I’ve always wanted to try my hand at home-made pasta…after a horribly failed attempt at spaetzle, I gave it up (for now)! We don’t have many sources for fresh pasta so we still make do with the dried kind. I love how pesto can be customized, I did one with spinach last year and loved it!

  5. Cayla says:

    i love love love pesto!

  6. I wish I could have dinner at your place every night. This looks divine.

  7. I love the idea of using roquette in pesto. Have you ever blanched the basil first so it stays green? Or do you not have to worry about that because of the roquette?

  8. Rocket is so versatile, thanks for the reminder, anothe rone to add to my must make soon list!

  9. katyarich says:

    Great idea, I just love it…:)

Leave a Reply

