American Rarebit

Now I woke up this morning, grimly prepared to walk the dog in the freezing weather, but with a good attitude.  No water in my bathroom probably because the pipes, only in my bathroom, are frozen.  Bizarre.  But no worries.  I went over to Jade’s bathroom for the morning’s ablutions, called my husband on Skype and whined.  Felt better.

Even better yet, Frugal, one of my favorite Welsh bloggers posted a recipe for Welsh rarebit http://frugalfeeding.wordpress.com/2012/02/05/keeping-alive-a-tradition-3-welsh-rarebit/ and inspired me to make my own version.  Thanks Frugal!

Okay, Edam was not a good cheese choice and I knew it wasn’t; good tasting but doesn’t melt well.  But it’s what I had on quick notice.  To get that fluid, melty, Frugal goodness, use cheddar or something else.

Rarebit Internationale

100 grams thawed Edam cheese

1 tsp American, yellow French’s mustard

4 tbsp 1664 Kronenbourg French beer

1 tbsp Savoie butter

Whole grain Carrefour brand bread

Piment d’Espelette (hot paprika)

Melt the cheese in the mustard, butter and beer.  Toast the bread, pour the melted cheese over and broil until golden.  Sprinkle with the piment.

Wine suggestion:  Champagne

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Appetizer, Cheese, Cooking, Food and Wine, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to American Rarebit

  1. Having already been over to Frugal’s blog this morning this is just too funny. So this is an Ameri-Dutch-French Rarebit :)

  2. I am very keen on Welsh rarebit and I am rarely keen on anything Welsh, but that’s just the bigot in me. However, I am very keen on Veuve Cliquot as an accompaniment to Welsh or American rarebit or, in fact, any damn rabbit.

  3. Spoon Feast says:

    Love the Cliquot and seeing this on Frugal’s site too.
    Too funny.

  4. Great now I’m doubly craving rarebit!

  5. I’m not happy about this :D. It looks great, Rosemary. I’m very impressed with the speed with which you produced and blogged this! Someone is dedicated :D. As usual, I’m made up about you featuring me in a post :).

  6. Tessa says:

    I’ve never tried rarebit before. Looks scrumptious!

  7. Jane says:

    haha nice, I saw his version too. How can you go wrong with bread and cheese? And champagne! Yum!

  8. ceciliag says:

    I’ll take the champagne!! In NZ we call it cheese on toast, (who knew) it is a staple! c

  9. sheilaly says:

    I am always looking for easy and yummy breakfast recipes. Thanks!

  10. Conor Bofin says:

    Just read both yours and Frugal’s. If I had to choose, I think the Champagne would swing it. We used to make a very simple version as kids. I remember putting extra butter and salt on as soon as the grilling was done. Back then, one could do such stuff without thinking of having a stent or two fitted.

Leave a Reply

