Haitian Soupe Giraumon/Joumou

Viciously cold this morning and there I was at 6:30 this morning, resentfully walking my husband’s dog.  It was nine below zero because I looked it up when I got home.   I broke the ice on the dogs water and filled up her bowl with hot water, warmed her food before I gave it to her and fed the rapacious cats.

Instead of just singing the blues, I decided to stick my hand warmers inside my mittens, wrap a large scarf around my neck, put on my sheep wool hat, my Uggs and go to the open market.  Today’s Friday.

I had decided to make the Haitian soup giraumon with the pumpkin my hairdresser gave me and at the same time, buy vegetables for anything else that I might think of making this weekend, not wanting to do this again anytime soon.  The stall owners were shivering and had covered many of the vegetables with blankets.

The interesting thing about soup giraumon is that during French colonization, it was forbidden for  Haitians to eat pumpkin soup.  The French considered it far too sophisticated for the palate of mere slaves.  Since the revolution that freed the Haitians from French colonization, Haitians eat pumpkin soup every January 1 to commemorate that freedom.  And also because it’s very, very good.

Soupe Giraumon

1lb of beef, cut into cubes

1lb pumpkin, cut into cubes

1 onion, chopped

1 celery stalk, chopped

4 garlic cloves, chopped

1 tsp dried thyme leaves

4 cloves

2 Maggi beef bouillon cubes

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp pepper

8 cups water

2 potatoes, cubed

1 mirliton/chayote, cubed

1/4 cabbage, chopped

1 turnip, diced

2 carrots, sliced

2 leeks, sliced

1 tbsp parsley, chopped

1 scotch bonnet

1 cup spaghetti, broken into pieces

1 tbsp lime juice

Put the pumpkin, meat, onion, celery, garlic, thyme, cloves, bouillon cubes, salt and pepper in a large pot, cover with the water, bring to a boil and simmer for 1 hour.  After an hour, remove the pumpkin from the pot, puree and put back into the pot.

Add the potatoes, mirliton, cabbage, turnip, carrots, leeks. parsley and scotch bonnet to the pot, bring to a boil and simmer for 30 minutes.  Add the spaghetti and lime juice and continue to cook until the spaghetti is done.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, Haitian, Main dishes, Recipes, Soup and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Haitian Soupe Giraumon/Joumou

  1. Too much going on in this soup for me, I’m afraid (I am not a beef lover and wouldn’t care for the spaghetti in it either). But I love the photo with the blue china and the one with the market bounty.

  2. Jon says:

    Thanks for the recipe, I will definitely use it! A few years ago I made up a batch with some leftover goat, not bad.

  3. This looks great. So odd to read about the cold. I think it’s 62 degrees about everywhere in the states, except Texas. It’s 78 there.

  4. Aren’t you nice? That’s the thing about dogs isn’t it? This looks delicious, though I’ve never heard of it!

  5. Karen says:

    Your soup sounds so warming and good. I can’t believe you are having such cold weather…stay warm.

  6. I read about this just right after January 1! There was an article in the paper about how there was a spike in Haitian immigrants coming into the ER with stomachaches. At first, people thought that it might be some kind of food scare, but it turns out that people were eating too much pumpkin soup!

  7. Miss Meshow says:

    Sounds good. Surprised to see lime juice at the end of the list of ingredients. I don’t buy beef, but I was just given a big hunk of elk. Perhaps I’ll try that.

  8. marie moise says:

    Thank you for the recipe ,.I make this soup at least 10 times a year i was not sure about the ingredients come to find out that the ingredients in your recipe is more original than the other one that i found on line . I am giving you an A+

Leave a Reply

