Hoisin Roasted Pork Steaks

Before I get to the tender, juicy hoisin roasted pork steaks, I have something to say.

Wouldn’t the world be as dull as dirt if everyone looked alike, talked alike and thought alike?   Vive la difference, I say.  Especially when it comes to thoughts and beliefs.   I guess that’s why I’ve had such a fantastic time overseas.  I like to know what others think, even when I don’t quite agree.  It’s interesting and at times, enlightening.

Politically correct thinking can sometimes be taken to an extreme, preventing free thinking and expression.  Why become angry if someone disagrees with you or holds an opinion contrary to yours?  It used to be known as conversation, discussion or debate before television took it’s place in the living room.  Maybe we’ve lost the art of conversation because we are afraid that some of our thoughts, if expressed, would banish us from polite society.  So we say little or parrot the acceptable ideas of our time and because everyone is saying the same thing, which is boring, we invite people over to watch T.V. in the living room.  Dull,mechanical.  Anyway, the pork steaks.

I found a jar of good tasting hoisin chilli peanut dip http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2011/11/06/deep-fried-quail-with-hoisin-dipping-sauce/in the refrigerator that needed to be moved on.  I mixed in a little water and used it as a marinade.  Worked.

Hoisin Roasted Pork Steaks

4 pork steaks

Salt and Pepper

3 garlic cloves, chopped

1 red chilli, chopped

1 cup hoisin sauce

1/4 cup warm water

1/4 cup peanut butter

1 tbsp rice vinegar

Sesame seed

Season the pork steaks with salt and pepper.  Mince the garlic and chilli in a food processor, add the hoisin sauce, peanut butter, water and rice vinegar, blending well.  Put the steaks in a zip lock, pour some of the marinade over, squish and refrigerate for 2 hours.

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit and roast the steaks on a rack for 25 minutes. Turn and brush on some of the marinade and roast for another 15 minutes.

Sprinkle the steaks with sesame seed and serve with buttered, mixed vegetables.

Wine suggestion:  Rose

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Hoisin Roasted Pork Steaks

  1. Really interesting marinade: I would not have thought to mix those particular ingredients, but it makes perfect sense and sounds delicious.

  2. Hoisin and PB, very cool. I have to give this one a try. I bet it’d work well on chicken too.

  3. This reminds me a little bit of the flavors in a satay sauce and I’ll bet it’s delicious with the pork. Thumbs up on freedom of speech, independent thinking and the right to express an individual or contrary opinion…lest we all become lemmings! :)

  4. Jon says:

    Looks delicious and I love to prepare something very similar that my kids like too. I usually use some brewed tea (green or oolong) instead of the water to thin the peanut butter. Couldn’t agree with you more on the expat experience and freedom of opinion. Best!

  5. I’m completely in agreement with your tribute to diversity and with your recipe for the pork steaks!

  6. Thank you Chaise. Diversity has become such a buzz word, I like to think of it in the old fashion way, “freedom of expression”. It’s the first amendment of the U.S. Constitution and while our laws don’t censor it, it seems that more and more our American society does, and in imitation, the societies of other nations. Whatever happened to “let’s agree to disagree?”

  7. Tessa says:

    I really like the pork steaks however, I like your thoughts on diversity so much better! So nicely put. I believe that if more people cherished diversity, the world would be a better place.

  8. Karen says:

    Diversity is the spice of life. I think your pork recipe has lovely spice as well.

Leave a Reply

