Japanese Shrimp Noodle Bowl

I woke up this morning thinking about my overloaded freezer but when I looked inside, I just couldn’t think.  I had two lone chicken thighs that kept calling attention to themselves and a pound of shrimp that I’ve been eyeing for a while and it occurred to me that we haven’t had a noodle fix in a while.

Jade had a surprise day off today, so we decided to go and loiter around the big Friday vegetable market and cruise the fish monger.  We bought some sesame seed oil, fresh noodles, shitake mushrooms and nice scallions from the Vietnamese lady and 6 large cooked shrimp from the fish monger.  A quick coffee and hot chocolate at Jacque’s place, then we headed home to try to realize our Wagamama fantasies.

Japanese Shrimp Noodle Bowl

1 bunch scallions, white and green sliced separately

1 inch fresh ginger, chopped

2 large cloves garlic, slivered

2 tbsp sesame seed oil

2 tsp dashi powder

2 tbsp tamari soy sauce

Water

4 large shitake mushrooms, stems removed

2 chicken thighs, skinned and boned

1/2 chinese cabbage, sliced

Fresh udon noodles

1 lb shrimp, shelled and cleaned

4 cooked, head on, large shrimp

2 hard boiled eggs boiled

Cook the scallion whites, ginger, and garlic in the oil until fragrant.  Add the dashi powder, soy sauce and water to cover.  Bring to a boil and simmer for 15 minutes.  Add the shitake mushrooms, cabbage and chicken thighs, bring to a boil and simmer for 10 minutes.  Remove the chicken and mushrooms, slice and set aside.  Add the udon noodles and simmer for 3-5 minutes.  Add the shelled shrimp, sliced chicken and simmer for 3 minutes.

Divide the soup between four bowls, garnishing with the cooked shrimp, sliced mushrooms and 1/2 hard boiled egg.  Sprinkle with the sliced, green part of the scallions.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, Japanese, Main dishes, Recipes, Soup and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Japanese Shrimp Noodle Bowl

  1. I must be in Louisiana mode because I saw that and thought crawfish. (Yes, shrimp makes me think of the Gulf too.) It looks wonderful!

  2. Oh Sens, that’s so pretty! Wonderful. I love the entire langoustine.

  3. Apart from looking stunning and soooo appetising, it has all my favourite flavours!

  4. That’s quite a beautifully styled and healthy looking dish!

  5. Fay says:

    Gorgeous! I am reading a Japanese mystery novel, and this image does great things for my imagination. Also makes me hungry.

  6. Chef Pamela says:

    Yum! This is real comfort food for me! I spent my high school years in Tokyo and we’d often go to the noodle shops for lunch or after school. There is nothing quite like a great bowl of noodles.

  7. Jill says:

    Looks delicious – sign me up!!

  8. katyarich says:

    Beautifully make, looks so yummy…

  9. Meenakshi says:

    Stunning. If only all noodle bowls could look like this!

  10. Pingback: Japanese Shrimp Noodle Bowl « catsandcarnations

  11. Pingback: UDON (Japanese noodles) Recipe « To Cook With Love

  12. marymtf says:

    Looks easy, sounds yummy. Trying. It out tonight

Leave a Reply

