Roasted Pork Sandwich with “Bottom of the Pan” Relish

A photographer, Myles New, posted a recipe in this month’s Jamie magazine for roasted pork sandwiches.  Looked good.   I had a small(916 grams) rolled pork loin roast in the freezer that I got on sale at Carrefour for 3 euros 77 centimes.  I bought two.

I really liked the sound of herbs stuffed into slits in the roast and dried prunes stuffed into cored apples.  So romantic :)

The apple on the left fell apart in an ugly fashion.  Guess not a roasting apple, huh?  I’ll have to ask Mme Parret to give me a quick rundown on cooking apples.  However, the apple falling apart wasn’t really important because to assemble the sandwich, you take a mush of all the vegetables and fruits at the bottom of the pan and spread it on the bread.  Sort of a bottom of the pan relish.  Mah-velous!

The original recipe featured shredded pork but I couldn’t be bothered and it was past lunch time, so I sliced it.  I also adjusted cooking times and temperatures and God knows what else.  For the real thing see Jamie, issue 25, January 12, 2012.

Roasted Pork Sandwich with “Bottom of the Pan” Relish

2lb or so rolled pork loin roast

1 1/2 tsp dried rosemary leaves

1 1/2 tsp dried thyme leaves

3 bay leaves, broken in half

2 red onions, quartered

3 large carrots

1 head of garlic

3 apples, cored

Dried seedless prunes

Cresson

Mayonnaise

Sandwich rolls

Stab lots of slits in the roast and stuff with the herbs and bay leaf.  Place the onions, carrots, garlic head and the apples stuffed with the prunes in the bottom of a roasting pan.    Roast for 45 minutes at 400 degrees Fahrenheit.  Lower the temperature to 325 degrees Fahrenheit, loosely cover with foil and continue to roast for 1 1/2 – 2  hours.  Remove the roast and allow to cool for about 15 minutes.

Squeeze the roasted garlic into the pan bottom and discard the husk.  Lightly mash the vegetables and fruits together, then spread some of this mixture on one half of each sandwich roll, spread mayonnaise on the other half, then top with sliced pork and cresson.

Beverage suggestion:  Frozen Stolichnaya

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, English, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes, Sandwich and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Roasted Pork Sandwich with “Bottom of the Pan” Relish

  1. I’ve been reading a lot of slow-cooked pork recipes lately.. but haven’t the time. I love that you just put this wee pot together. It is romantic, that stuffed apple! What a sandwich!!

  2. We’ve been wanting to bake apples, what a great reminder. Wonderful meal too.

  3. I made that same recipe of Myles’ ( an ex assistant of mine by the way ) when I was last over in the Uk – just delicious. You do need soft white rolls though.

  4. Oh my lord yes, this looks amazing. I’d kill to have this for lunch. By the way, thanks so much for actually doing the question – I totally didn’t expect it. It’s so great to know more about you!

  5. Now that is one scrumptious looking sandwich, but I was on board just reading “bottom of the pan relish” in the title!

  6. kyleen says:

    My mouth is watering! This sandwich looks so, so good that I just want to reach into my computer and pull it out. And the bottom of the pan relish? Sounds delish.

  7. Pork with apples wins me over every time.

  8. the simplicity of this dish (and the photographs) is just beautiful. I love me some good pork but I just don’t cook it very often. This makes me want to cook it.

  9. I’m trying this today for lunch, and the smell of it cooking (about an hour in so far) bodes very very well :)

  10. Pingback: Crispy Pork Belly | Cooking in Sens

  11. Pingback: Roasted Goose Sandwich with Bottom of the Pan Relish | Cooking in Sens

  12. Pingback: Doing Jamie: Gennaro Contaldo’s Italian Rack of Lamb | Cooking in Sens

Leave a Reply

