Foie de Veau with Mustard Cream Sauce

It’s liver time!   Jade will be so pleased when she gets home from school!  I decided to make a mustard sauce to go with the calf’s liver, although we would probably have been just as satisfied with some sauteed onions and little mustard on the side.  I served this with mirliton http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2012/01/24/mirliton-a-la-creole/ and a little mache.  This was really good!  Crispy, melt in your mouth veal liver with a creamy mustard sauce.  Superb!

For you haters out there, this sauce would also work with a veal chop or a roasted chicken leg.

Foie de Veau with Mustard Cream Sauce

1/4 red pepper, diced

1/4 onion, diced

1 celery branch, diced

2 large cloves of garlic, slivered

1 tbsp goose fat

1 tsp wine vinegar

2 cups veal or chicken broth

1 small bay leaf

1 small thyme dried sprig

1/2 tsp oregano

2 tbsp Dijon mustard

1/2 cup cream

Salt

Pepper

4 slices calf’s liver

Flour

1 tbsp butter

2 tbsp olive oil

Cook the vegetables in the goose fat until soft.  Add the vinegar and stir for a minute.  Add the broth, bay leaf, thyme, oregano, bring to a boil and simmer until the liquid is reduced by half.  Add the mustard and cream and continue simmering until the sauce has thickened.  Remove the bay leaf and thyme sprig, season with salt and pepper.  Set aside and keep warm.

Season the liver with salt and pepper, dust with flour and fry in the butter and oil.

Wine suggestion:  Sauvignon Blanc

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Foie de Veau with Mustard Cream Sauce

  1. Not a liver fan (not any kind), but I might steal the mustard sauce for something.

  2. I so loved liver as a child growing up! My mom just did a simple fry with onions and sweet yellow mustard on the side. It was one of my favorites. I think this one just takes liver to a whole other level… lucky Jade!

  3. Another liver lover here (thanks to my mum) , although living with a vegetarian curbs it sometimes! But I love the mustard recipe so will bookmark it to try elsewhere, just need to come up with a bright veggie idea first!

  4. I adore liver and this would be such a treat. Actually, sometimes we can get it here and not too expensive as people don´t “value” it! And with my favourite wine too….perfection.

  5. Tessa says:

    I love liver! My problem is that I am surrounded by haters so I usually end up eating it in a restaurant. Beautiful photos!

  6. I haven’t done a mustard sauce in awhile either. That’s it. I must make baked apples AND something with mustard sauce soon.

  7. katyarich says:

    I really like liver and this is a recipe to make, thank you to share, take care , katya

  8. Foie de veau is absolutely my favorite dish! I love that you love it too.

  9. Claire says:

    Yum yum yum yum yum! I’m so glad I stumbled upon your blog – this looks so awesome. I cannot wait to try this. In Australia, calf’s liver is a ‘special order’ item at the butcher unfortunately, but I really love it. I usually have it with slow roasted peppers and capers but this mustard sauce – superb. Thank you!

  10. Shanna says:

    Stumbled across your blog looking on Pinterest for a different way to prepare liver, since my boys (6&4yrs) are currently on a “onions are Gross!!” Kick!
    Definitely going to make this for dinner tomorrow, it sounds so delicious! Finally found some calfs liver at the store the other day, hoping a sauce and the milder taste of the calf liver will convert the boys to being lovers of liver as much as my husband and I are. And its frugal to boot, at least here in the states. I was able to find a pre-prepped 4slice package for less than $5 (US Dollars)!
    Thanks for sharing your recipe!

    • Hi Shanna. $5! Lucky you! Another idea your boys might like is beef cubes, calf’s liver and apple brochettes grilled on wooden skewers and brushed with a fruity sauce. Good :)

      • Shanna says:

        I know, right? I have yet to find Veal liver, but was ecstatic to find the calf for so cheap! (A family of 3 boys, I’m always looking for ways to save on the food budget! LOL)
        And the grilled idea sounds wonderful as well! I will have to try that too!
        Thank you!

Leave a Reply

