Mirliton a la Creole

Mirliton or chayote is a wonderful, mild flavored squash that I was first introduced to in Haiti.  Steamed, stuffed or mixed with spicy shrimp, mirliton is a vegetable that appeals to  most.  Or should.  Versatile, it can be eaten alone with a little country bread, as I did, or served as a side dish.

It’s pale green in color, pear shaped with a tough outer skin.  Some say that the skin is inedible but I’ve had stuffed mirliton in Haiti, skin on, that was palatable.  Don’t worry, I removed the skin.

Mirliton a la Creole

4 mirliton

1/2 green bell pepper, chopped

1/2 onion, chopped

4 garlic cloves, chopped

1 celery branch, chopped

Butter

2 tsp Emeril’s Essence

Boil the mirliton for 45 minutes, remove skin and cut into cubes.  Saute the pepper, onion, garlic and celery in butter until soft.  Add the mirliton cubes, Emeril’s Essence and stir cooking for about 2 minutes.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, Haitian, Recipes, side dish, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Mirliton a la Creole

  1. Not sure about mirliton. My experience has been that most of the squash family offer more than they can deliver – but, because of my innate distrust in the Cucurbita family, my squash experience is limited.

  2. You’ll like this one Roger. Try it.

  3. I’m a big fan of squashes, and this is a new one on me. Never heard of emerils essence either!
    Great food Rosemary.
    Cheers
    Marcus

    • Hi Marcus. It’s a creole spice created by Emeril Lagasse. You can store it in a jar and use it to spice things up. Very good with shrimp.

      Ingredients
      2 1/2 tablespoons paprika
      2 tablespoons salt
      2 tablespoons garlic powder
      1 tablespoon black pepper
      1 tablespoon onion powder
      1 tablespoon cayenne pepper
      1 tablespoon dried oregano
      1 tablespoon dried thyme
      Directions
      Combine all ingredients thoroughly and store in a jar.

  4. Tessa says:

    I love chayote. And be sure not to forget to say “Bam!” when you add Emeril’s Essence. :)

  5. I love about any type of squash, so I’ll keep my eyes, um, peeled!

  6. katyarich says:

    In Brazil we call it CHUCHU…I love it, normally we have it on.. salads, boil first, let it to cool and mix in a bowl with onions, tomatoes and dressing with lemon, olive oil, salt and pepper. I brought one from Brazil on November last year and I’m trying to grow in a pot here in Spain, because now is winter…..another great idea…..

  7. Pingback: Foie de Veau with Mustard Cream Sauce | Cooking in Sens

Leave a Reply

