Confit de Poulet aux Fruits Secs

My inspiration for today’s dinner comes from the website, Elle a Table  http://cuisine.elle.fr/Elle-a-Table/Recettes-de-cuisine/Confit-de-poulet-aux-fruits-secs-833698 and it’s a good one.  With the spices and dried fruit, it has a Moroccan-like flavor.  Good thing I was in tajine mode today.   So easy and so good!

Tajine Chicken with Dried Fruit

8 chicken thighs, seasoned with salt and pepper

1 tbsp olive oil

4 garlic cloves, coarsely chopped

1 inch fresh ginger, grated

4 tbsp chopped cilantro

1 bouquet garni(some dried thyme sprigs with a bay leaf)

1 tsp each cinnamon, cumin, tumeric and 4 spice powder

1 cup dried apricots

1 cup dried and seeded prunes

2 cups water

In a tajine or an oven proof receptacle, brown the chicken in the olive oil.  Add the garlic, ginger, cilantro, bouquet garni and all the spices.  Stir to blend, then arrange the chicken skin side up.  Add the water and cook in a 400 degree Fahrenheit oven for 30 minutes, uncovered.  Add the fruit and continue to cook for another 20 minutes.

Wine suggestion:  Cote du Rhone

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in African, African, Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Fruit, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Confit de Poulet aux Fruits Secs

  1. I love cooking savoury things with fruit. I sent a very good recipe to my son, Sam, which is called lamb Polo and is cooked with lamb shoulder and dried apricots and served with Persian rice.

  2. Cinnamin says:

    Oh that chicken is making my mouth water! It looks so moist. I have been wanting to buy a tagine for a while now, and saw one at a mall in Doha. I didn’t pick it up because I didn’t know how it would fit in my suitcase. Regretting it now!

  3. Looks wonderful. I need to cook with dried fruit and I need to restock on chicken thighs.

  4. This looks delicious. I have everything but the chicken thighs, so I’m saving this one for later.

  5. Karen says:

    I have been out of town for some time and have been catching up on all of your posts. It isn’t near time to eat but your beautiful photos and recipes have me starving. Your recipe reminds me of my Moroccan chicken stew, so you know I will be trying your wonderful sounding recipe.

  6. Looks terrific! The recipe looks so simple too.

  7. Looks fabulous! I might need to invest in a tajine…

  8. Get one that can cook on the stove top and also go in the oven.

  9. Karista says:

    This looks divine! I don’t have a tagine, but I think I’m getting one now. :)

  10. katyarich says:

    It looks awesome… yummy, can you send by post?.

  11. K&B N. says:

    That looks absolutely delicious. It looks both comforting and heart warming. Definitely a must try !

    ratedkb.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

