Otoshibuta Chicken Soup

I made this soup a while ago with turkey and a homemade otoshibuta or Japanese drop lid http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2011/02/12/japanese-style-turkey-simmered-with-carrots-and-turnips/.

Since then, I found a wooden otoshibuta in a shop in Paris, had thawed chicken breasts and was ready to make this recipe the way it should be made.

The simplicity of this recipe belies it’s flavor complexity and it’s standing as good, Japanese cuisine. I sliced the carrots and turnips in an irregular pattern called rangiri.  So much fun!  I used tamiri soy sauce and Hokkan sake that I found it Paris.  Use whatever you want, it will still be good.

Of course I’m always looking for a way to work quail eggs in, so I made quail tea eggs sprinkled with wild sesame seed.

Otoshibuta Chicken Soup

2 carrots, irregularly sliced

4 small turnips, irregularly sliced

1/2 onion, sliced

2 whole chicken breasts, skinless and boneless and cut into chunks

2 tbsp sake

3 tbsp sugar

4 tbsp soy sauce

Put the carrots, onion and turnips into a pan and just cover with water.  Bring to a boil, cover with at otoshibuta and simmer for 15 minutes.  Add the chicken and sake, return to a boil, add the sugar and soy sauce, cover with the otoshibuta and simmer for another 15 minutes.  Remove the otoshibuta and continue to cook for about 10 more minutes.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, Japanese, Main dishes, Recipes, Soup and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Otoshibuta Chicken Soup

  1. ceciliag says:

    I have not had quail eggs in such a long time. I would have to grow quail to get them here. The soup looks lovely. How wonderful to have those exotic ingredients! c

  2. And there’s my introduction to the otobushita – seems to be a great idea. The quails’ eggs look superb.

  3. Wonderful photos. Those quail tea eggs look amazing.

  4. Cinnamin says:

    Those quail eggs look beautiful! I haven’t had them in the longest time…there’s this lady who sells them near my parents house, next time I go home I should pick some up.

  5. Beautiful photo, beautiful soup.

  6. As usual you grab my attention with your stunning photos, and i’m drawn further in with your mouth watering recipes that I want to try myself. And those eggs look so good.
    Cheers
    Marcus

  7. Oh my lord, those quails eggs look incredible. I love the sound of this meal. Also, you might be interested in my recent post, you are mentioned a fair amount.

  8. Michelle says:

    Beautiful! Have been poring over Japanese cookbooks this weekend myself.

  9. Thanks for introducing us to the otoshibuta, we’ve never seen it before. Your soup looks just luscious adn we find ourselves craving it on this chilly evening. So warm, comforting, and healthy!

  10. I’ve never heard of otoshi buta before, but now that I have, I have to try it! I second the comments made by other reader: thank you for introducing us to it! Are the results really different from just boiling or simmering soup?

  11. Hi. According to the Japanese, the otoshibuta promotes even cooking and sort of marinates the ingredients with the sauce. I don’t know, everytime I’ve used one, my results were excellent.

  12. katyarich says:

    it looks awesome…..yummy and also beautiful pictures, thanks to share…..

Leave a Reply

