Chilli Cheese Eggs

My husband is going to read the title of this post and think, “Oh boy, chili cheese eggs!” and will be disappointed when he looks at the picture.  My usual chili cheese eggs are made with leftover chili(the stew) and is an imitation of a late night-early morning plate served in a 4 stool bar-cafe in Las Vegas, Nevada.  Dee-licious!

This morning, coming back from a less than bracing walk with the dog, I blearily peered in the refrigerator and took out what I assumed was diced green bell pepper and a small piece of tomato.  Up against the wall, Rosemary!   What the walk didn’t accomplish, the scrambled eggs did.

Chili Cheese Eggs

2 eggs, beaten

Butter

Green chilli, diced

Comte cheese, grated

Tomato, chopped

Pour the eggs into a pan with melted butter, sprinkle with the chilli and cheese, then lightly scramble.  Sprinkle tomato on top.  Serve with a piece of toasted country bread and cooling, fresh squeezed orange juice.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Chilli Cheese Eggs

  1. I love this version of scrambled eggs. In Philippines, we even add chopped onions. I love it with rice for breakfast, yummy!

  2. I love chilli eggs – they remind me of travelling in India, and everywhere I went I would try different versions. I like the simplicity of yours, and of course the Comte :)

  3. Conor Bofin says:

    We have taken to grinding chili flakes over our scrambled eggs. Some grated cheese does little harm either. Wonderful with smoked salmon.
    Conor

  4. IamSimplyTia says:

    I’m going to have to try this. It looks wonderfully delicious and simple.

  5. My favorite breakfast. I have been on a spicy scrambled egg kick lately! Thanks for sharing!

  6. YUM! Looks delicious – I’ve been using this Veri Peri sauce lately on my eggs … it’s awesome. You can get it on Amazon + free shipping or @ http://www.veriperiusa.com

Leave a Reply

