Curried Lamb Leg with Roasted Vegetables

There was a sale on New Zealand lamb legs at Carrefour.   There was a lot of meat on sale after the holidays and it looks as if I’m in freezer trouble again.  Freezers are also on sale and I’m considering that.

Anyway, I like both New Zealand lamb and Indian food.  So voila, I decided to make some fresh garam masala and curry my lamb leg according to the recipe at BBC http://www.bbc.co.uk/food/recipes/raanmarinatedroastle_78626.  Truly, I’m not turning into an anglophile, no more than I’m a francophile, I’m just exploring my cuisine options.  Having spent 3 months in London, while our son was hospitalized, I learned to respect English knowledge of Indian cuisine.  Ex-colony, what?  Also there’s a whole lot of Indians and Indian restaurants in London.  Outside of New Delhi, London has some of the best Indian food I’ve ever eaten!

Roasted vegetables are always good and curried roasted vegetables are superior!  I mixed some hard boiled quail eggs into the cooked vegetables just because I could and I knew they would be good :)

I also added some greek yogurt to the mango salsa that I made yesterday http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2012/01/14/fried-fish-cheeks-with-mango-salsa/ to create a mango raita.

Roasted Curried Vegetables with Quail Eggs

1 aubergine, cut into cubes

2 zucchini, cut into cubes

2 red onions, quartered

2 carrots, thickly sliced

4 cloves of garlic, slivered

1 tbsp cumin

1 tbsp curry powder

3 tbsp olive oil

20 hard boiled quail eggs

Mix the vegetables with the cumin, curry powder and olive oil.  Roast for 1 hour at 350 degrees Fahrenheit.  Mix in the quail eggs.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, Indian, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Curried Lamb Leg with Roasted Vegetables

  1. Cooked to perfection, as always. I would love to have another freezer.

  2. What a great combination. The lamb looks perfect.

  3. You need to get some Welsh lamb. Better quality in my opinion, of course, and less air miles! :D This sounds awesome – you always cook some of my favourite ingredients, usually the stuff that wouldn’t quite fit in on my blog.

  4. Oh, quail eggs. Yummy. Everything looks perfect!

  5. Some of our best Indian food was eaten in London… Love that about London! This looks like a yummy recipe… I’ve never eaten quail eggs!

  6. kyleen says:

    My mouth is watering… This looks so delicious!

  7. Oh lamb curry. Perfect. I love the richness of a good lamb curry fused with great spices and herbs. I’m just off to drool :)

  8. I love lamb leg!!! And these vegetables looks so nice, this has to be the perfect dish!!

Leave a Reply

