Baked Eggs in Tomato Sauce

Did you ever wonder what the point of having a microwave was, besides it’s ability to reheat leftovers and defrost frozen items if you watch it carefully?  While I would never cook a meal or anything major in a microwave, it does have other uses.   Take these eggs, for example.

I came back from walking the dog and visiting Jacques this morning who, by the way, was sitting down for a huge breakfast-dinner with his buddies at 7:30 a.m.  I decided to bake some eggs for a “correct” breakfast but I couldn’t be bothered to preheat the oven and wait. So I decided to use the microwave.

Baked Eggs in Tomato Sauce 

3/4-1 cup leftover tomato sauce

2 eggs

Grated cheese

Parsley

Spread some tomato sauce in the bottom of a ramekin.  Break the eggs into the sauce and pierce each yolk with a sharp knife.  Add more sauce around the yolks, sprinkle with the cheese and microwave for 3 1/2-4 minutes.  Sprinkle with parsley and serve with toast spread with manchovy paste http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2012/01/10/jamies-super-scotch-woodcock/.  Pour a glass of fresh squeezed and enjoy.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Baked Eggs in Tomato Sauce

  1. I always hate using the microwave to cook, but if you do then I should get over it :D. This looks fantastic, naturally.

  2. Thank you thank you thank you! I’ve been looking for a quick morning’s breakfast for my family that wouldn’t make a huge mess. I’m so tired of poached eggs, scrambled eggs. These ingredients are always in my pantry/fridge as well! Perfect!

  3. I would’ve never guessed. They look wonderful.

  4. we have a microwave sitting in a corner in the kitchen. It gets dusty! But I have recently been trying to use it for steaming vegetables. But I like the idea of using it for this dish. I’ve made a similar Spanish style one before now, but I always seem to manage to overcook the eggs. So using a micorwave might be the answer…..

  5. Cheri says:

    Did you poke the yolks first? I’ve always been afraid to try something like this because I was told the yolks would explode and make a huge mess to clean up.

  6. Wowo you made this in MW. I am sure gonna try this. Looks super super delicious.

  7. Laura says:

    Yum and thanks! To try in the future – a few more steps but you can also do a mean faux eggs florentine – cover and zap the spinach first only about 15 seconds, so you can compress enough to make a hollow for the eggs, slurp in a little milk, break in eggs and pierce yolk, cover and zap to slightly under your preferred doneness (in my machine, for my taste, it is 1:15), and then sprinkle cheese and run under your broiler. This last non-wave step is essential if you don’t want rubbery cheese … Sad to say I have also done it with frozen spinach when I am craving greens …

  8. fluffypen says:

    This is such a good idea – I will be making this at the weekend!

  9. I may try this for dinner! Love it.

  10. kat says:

    This looks fantastic! I never would of thought that it was cooked in the microwave, amazing!! :)

  11. Danguole says:

    Haha, I wish I’d seen this before I went to the trouble of mucking around with a cast iron skillet a couple weekends ago. Definitely want to try the microwave method!

  12. Sandra says:

    I love baked eggs!

  13. What beautiful photos! I love the wide, colorful ramekins! I just got my first set of ramekins for Christmas, and I keep admiring them, but I haven’t used them yet. I think it will be time for baked eggs by Saturday’s breakfast! Thanks for the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

