Honey Mustard Duck Breast with Orange Sauce

I haven’t done a honey mustard plate in a while.  We really like the honey mustard combination and I found this recipe that included a hint of orange in the sauce  http://hotcrosscooking.blogspot.com/2011/02/sweedish-duck-breast-with-honey-mustard.html.  Great photo!  Oh my God, it seems that he’s a Brit also!  The British are coming!  Back.

And of course we’d never say no to duck breast.  I halved the recipe because one duck breast is more than adequate for the two of us.  Okay, I’ll confess, I added a little fresh grated ginger to the sauce.  Mah-velous!  Okay, I also didn’t add oil to the pan when I seared the duck.

Honey Mustard Duck Breast with Orange Sauce

1 1/2 tbsp maple syrup

1 1/2 tbsp orange juice

2 1/2 tbsp honey

1/2 tsp grated ginger

5 oz chicken stock

1 tsp cornstarch

1 duck breast, fat scored in a diamond pattern

1 1/2 tbsp mustard

1 orange, peel and pith removed and sectioned

Make the orange sauce by bringing to a boil the maple syrup, 1 tablespoon of the honey, the orange juice, ginger and chicken stock.  Add the cornstarch, mixed with a little water to the pan and continue to boil until the sauce has thickened.  Set aside and keep warm.

Mix the rest of the honey and the mustard.   Sear the duck breast on the fat side in a heavy skillet for about 3 minutes.  Dip into the honey mustard mixture and broil for about 10 minutes in the oven.  Slice and serve with the orange sauce and orange sections.

Wine suggestion:  Beaujolais Blanc

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, English, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Honey Mustard Duck Breast with Orange Sauce

  1. ceciliag says:

    I cannot get a duck out here unless it is christmas or i grow one however This lovely sauce would be great on other cuts? So tasty. I am going to try this one.. thank you.. c

  2. Sens, that looks so wonderful delicious – so juicy and clearly perfectly cooked.

  3. I love cooking with orange and throw in maple syrup and duck breast, I’m sold!

  4. Anastasia says:

    Mmmmm! Looks so good!

  5. My wife and I made this last night, and loved it.

    I would really liked to have amped the sauce up a little more. Next time, I am going to reduce the sauce a lot more, and probably cook several orange sections in there. Maybe even a little grand marnier.

    Thanks for the recipe, it was great!

Leave a Reply

