Jamie’s Super Scotch Woodcock

This is my problem; once I start “doing” Jamie, it’s hard to stop.  Also, I didn’t really like his holiday issue but am totally fascinated with Issue 25, January 12th.  He’s doing a lot of dishes using celery, which I love!  Remember when the British couldn’t cook?   That has certainly changed!

I decided to try his scotch woodcock.  Mainly because it looked good, also I’d never heard of it, the name amused me and I wanted to eat it.  In addition I was intrigued by his “manchovy” relish for the toast.

Super Scotch Woodcock:  Jamie Magazine Issue 25

140 g Spanish anchovies

40 g butter

3 tsp panko bread crumbs

Pinch of cayenne

2 pinches white pepper

2 pinches mace

1 knob of butter

4 celery stalks, peeled and finely chopped

4 eggs, beaten

Celery salt

4 slices of sourdough bread, toasted

1 red or green chilli chopped

To make the manchovy relish, mash the butter and anchovies together, then place in a food processor with the bread crumbs, cayenne, white pepper, mace and blend until smooth.

Sweat the celery in the knob of butter in a covered pan for about 5 minutes.  Add the eggs and celery salt and soft scramble.  Spread the toast with the manchovy relish, top with the eggs and sprinkle with the chilli.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, English, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Jamie’s Super Scotch Woodcock

  1. tessa says:

    Beautiful photos! I have to admit when I read the recipe I kept wondering why is it called Scotch Woodcock? There’s no bird… I suppose I need to get better acquainted with British cuisine! :)

  2. Wow – my grandparents used to love Gentelman´s Relish – and I loved the little containers it came in. Fantastic recipe and a good way for me to use the celery I have which is growing out of control right now!

  3. I have heard “doing” Jamie is quite addictive, but well I’m a guy. Sorry, I couldn’t resist. I’m being quite bad with the jokes and puns today. I hadn’t heard of this before, but I do love anchovies. Looks great.

  4. Pingback: Baked Eggs in Tomato Sauce | Cooking in Sens

  5. Pingback: Scotch Woodcock with Bonnet | Cooking in Sens

Leave a Reply

