Spicy Chorizo Chickpea Stew

I was inspired to make this stew by someone called Nigel Slater, probably British http://www.guardian.co.uk/lifeandstyle/2007/jan/14/foodanddrink.recipes.   I have to say inspired because I altered his excellent recipe quite a bit.  I’m having one of those days.  Really, I only had one criticism of his recipe.   Hello!  Bay leaf, Nigel!  The other alterations just had to do with what was in my cupboards and fridge.  I added some smoked boar, substituted piment d’espelette for the paprika, used diced tomatoes instead of crushed, added some bell peppers and, of course, a bay leaf.  Punch the link for the original.

Spicy Chorizo Chickpea Stew

1 lb dried chickpeas, soaked overnight

2 tbsp olive oil

2 large onions, coarsely chopped

4 or more garlic cloves, sliced

1/2 green and red bell pepper, each, coarsely chopped

2 carrots, halved vertically and sliced

2 cans diced tomatoes

1 cup diced smoked boar or smoked ham hock

1 bay leaf

1 tbsp piment d’espelette

4 cups water

1 lb Spanish chorizo, sliced.  Not Mexican.  The dry kind.  Seriously.

Drain and rinse the chickpeas, cover with fresh water, bring to a boil and simmer for 1 1/2 hours, then drain.  In the meantime, saute the onions, garlic and peppers in the olive oil until the onions are soft.  Add the boar or ham hock, carrots, tomatoes, bay leaf, piment and water, then bring to a boil.  Add the chickpeas and chorizo, cover and simmer for 1 hour.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, English, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes, Soup and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Spicy Chorizo Chickpea Stew

  1. Fay says:

    Interesting variation on a delicious stew of the American Southwest, where the chickpeas would be hominy instead, and the chorizo would be roasted pork with green chili sauce (chile verde). I had it at the cafe of the Pueblo Cultural Center in Albuquerque. It’s called posole and was fairly easy to copy at home.

  2. I plan to start saying Hello bay leaf Nigel, just for kicks. I do love this recipe.

  3. I’m a big fan of Nigels cooking and this is typical of his hearty simple style. And you look like you have improved on his dish.
    I would also add a bay leaf.
    I’m also a big fan of your cooking, and the photos here are mouth-wateringly good.
    Cheers
    Marcus

    • I’ve got to look more into his cooking. I’d never heard of him before I stumbled upon this excellent recipe. I’m hopelessly uniformed when it comes to celebrity cooks. I’ll have to get better!

  4. annascafe says:

    Poor old Nigel, he often seems to miss something out. However that said, he is my favourite cookery writer (and is indeed, British) His recipes are great starting points I find and a fail safe for excellent simple meals and flavour combinations. Check out my ham and flageolet bean recipe, my own Nigel bastardisation! On another note, I’m planning a chorizo with chick pea mash and tomato gravy meal this weekend, I’ll let you know how it turns out!

  5. Nigel Slater is a very good food writer – I usually read his columns in the Observer. He cooks good, hearty, honest food and this is a good example of it, which you have improved even further, with the smoked boar especially!

  6. IamSimplyTia says:

    I bet this is super delicious. I love chorizo and I love chickpeas! Must try this soon.

  7. kyleen says:

    This looks delicious! I’ve never tried chorizo sausage, but I’ve heard so many good things about it. Beautiful pictures!

  8. Nigel Slater is SO annoying. He’s definitely British. Has a bit of Tony Blair about him – but more annoying. However, and annoyingly, he does have some great recipes and this looks fantastic. Chorizo, for a start, is one of my favourite ingredients! Great stuff, as usual!

  9. I just want to eat everything you make!

  10. betty says:

    chorizo <3 I simply love it and anything it has to do with it, the stew looks incredible

Leave a Reply

