Going Frugal: Croquettes d’Oie

One of my favorite blogs is Frugal Feeding http://frugalfeeding.wordpress.com/.  He succeeds in preparing good, appetizing food, economically.  I understand he’ll be emphasizing  vegetarian dishes this year but I won’t hold that against him.  I like vegetables and the peperonata that he made would be fabulous over a veal chop :)

Anyway, I didn’t have leftover turkey because I roasted a goose for Christmas.  I was considering making a goose parmentier but wanted to do something a little different, so I asked Martha and she had a nice sounding recipe for leftover turkey croquettes http://www.marthastewart.com/343288/turkey-croquettes that I followed exactly, except for the goose substitution and the addition of a cherry sauce   http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2011/05/28/sauteed-foie-gras-sur-brioche-with-cherry-sauce/.  Frugal gourmet!

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Going Frugal: Croquettes d’Oie

  1. thelegaltart says:

    These sounds great. Excellent thinking!

  2. Karista says:

    Looks divine! I also love Frugal feeding blog. And yours as well. happy New Year!

  3. Looks great, Sens. Thanks for the mention. You know, I won’t be emphasising them all year, just at the moment. I’m trying to bring my health back up to standard following Christmas :D

  4. That cherry sauce looks amazing!

  5. These look really amazing. I forget how nice mâche is in France too.

  6. betty says:

    they sounds really good and they look fantastic, so crunchy on the outside

  7. These look delightful. Is mache a regional salad? It looks similar to what we call lambs lettuce (which I love).
    Cheers
    Marcus

Leave a Reply

