2012

I have always cooked; standing behind my mother, creaming the butter for sugar cookies, chopping the onions and celery for turkey stuffing or seasoning the flour for fried fish or chicken.  It’s always been interesting to me, as interesting as the ridiculous number of books I’ve read and the life successes of my husband and children.  I guess it had to do with the connect that you make with family and friends by feeding them; a gift that you give with no price tags or expectations of  return.

Eh bien, when I left work and came to France with our daughter Jade, I sort of fell into a hole.  My husband was not here and the fairly busy life of work and receptions had ended.  I didn’t know what to do with myself.  My son, then in Paris, suggested first that I start a restaurant.  Not.  Then he suggested that I start a blog.  So I did, November 2010, I think.

I’ve considered myself a fanatic blogger.  I post once and sometimes twice a day.  Why?  Because I miss my family.  I started my career as a “following to join” spouse in overseas American embassies because it passed the time while I waited for my husband to come home from work and my son from school.  No ambition.  The rest of my family was far away in the States; seeing them was an event celebrated every 2-3 years.

I guess I haven’t changed.  Blogging has become a substitute for work and  my “place holder” for my family.  I just realized this over the holiday.

I love taking pictures and sharing but the camera lens is no substitute when I’m looking at my men and girl through my own eyes.

Now my husband is going back to work in Southern Sudan, our son left on the 28th to work and carve out a life for himself as his parents did.  Boy howdy, it was good that we succeeded on being together for another Christmas!

I want to thank everyone who visited my blog over the past year.   You kept me centered, happy and gave me the patience to wait.  Roger, http://stowell.wordpress.com/ thank you for the gift of photography.  I don’t think I would have continued the blog with as much enthusiasm if it wasn’t for you.  I’m hoping to return to the Vendee with family this summer.  C, http://thekitchensgarden.wordpress.com/ thank you for your superior writing and photographs.  You kept me laughing.  Fay, http://readramble.wordpress.com/ thank you for the music and books.  My reading was in a rut and you pulled me out.  Frugal, http://frugalfeeding.wordpress.com/ I love reading your blog.   It has reminded me of the goodness of simple, well prepared meals.  Greg, http://rufusguide.wordpress.com/you not only put a lot of effort into your blog but you find the time to visit and comment on others’ efforts.  Thank you.  Jade, http://jade00.wordpress.com/ thank you for eating my food with such enthusiasm and for being the perfect daughter.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to 2012

  1. Well I’ve certainly enjoyed your blogs and look forward to more in 2012. You and your daughter are also fab people who brightened Jenny’s and my life this year. Thanks.

  2. Ana ✔ says:

    What a great post! Thank you for sharing. Happy 2012 :)

  3. Conor Bofin says:

    That is a wonderful post. Keep at it. The glimpses into French life keep my desire to return well and truly alive. At present, we are thinking of re-visiting Bordeaux during the summer. It will involve a relaxed trip through the countryside from Roscoff down the coast. Treasured times.
    Happy new year,
    Conor

  4. Laura says:

    Great new year’s post – and the photo particularly of the four small bowls is exquisite. Have a wonderful new year and keep ‘em coming!!

  5. Tessa says:

    How sweet! I loved this post and especially your blog. I always look forward to new posts from you in my inbox. Thank you and have a Happy New Year!

  6. Always a pleasure coming here. Here’s to 2012.

  7. Happy New Year for 2012. Such a wonderful and Inspiring Blog.
    i hope you have lots of lovely culinary adventures in the coming year, I for sure will be following!
    Cheers
    Marcus

  8. betty says:

    those are lovely pictures! all the food looks delicious

  9. Dave says:

    As poignant as the future is bright. I wish to all a magnificent 2012!

  10. What a beautiful post – lovely sentiments, words, photos. Do hope we will be hearing more from you in your new life in 2012.

  11. Wonderful pictures. Happy New Year!

  12. Fay says:

    A belated Happy New Year to you, Rosemary. My son is home from college, and you know how that goes! Your posts have been an inspiration to me in the kitchen, and you have been so very kind in visiting my blog and giving generous encouragement. I wish you lived nextdoor. Well, no. You are in France. I wish I lived nextdoor to you, for a season or two.

Leave a Reply

