Courte Paille Revisited

Not knowing what to do with ourselves today, we decided to go the Courte Paille http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2011/08/12/courte-paille/ for lunch again.  My husband had never been and we weren’t really up for anything special and the Courte Paille met these non-expectations.  Please don’t attack me again Courte Paille lovers, it’s not my fault.  After all, I’m not posting the pictures of the “welcome salad” because there was no way that I could photoshop it into being other than “ugly food”.   That said, Jade, trencher woman that she is, thoroughly enjoyed her hot Camembert salad, the bread was very good, my sardine rillettes edible and the wine drinkable.   That’s all I’m going to say.

Let’s skip the main courses, the Cafe Gourmand and go straight to Jade’s dessert.  I would show you the pictures, but you don’t want to know.

Chocolate Glace Liegeois.  Jade liked it.  I just thought you’d want to know, Roger.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Cooking, Dessert, Food and Wine, French and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Courte Paille Revisited

  1. I don’t know if I’ve mentioned this before, but “Courte Paille” means Short Straw. The English phrase “drawing the short straw” means “lucking out”! I’ve got to say that you’ve made the food look great – what are you like at the water to wine trick?

  2. Michelle says:

    Love the reference to “non-expectations.” Next stop, Buffalo Grill? (Steve always threatens to take me to one when we’re in France.)

  3. Hello, loving the blog. I am an English chef who left the UK three years ago to live and work in the South of France. I know what these kind of meals can be like and dare I say it, I think there are a surprising amount of terrible meals to be had in France, mainly, I think due to the lack of food competition within certain areas. However, there is also a lot of excellent food to be had, don’t get me wrong.
    Anyway, I will keep reading…
    You might like to have a read of my blog too maybe?? It’s a diary of our food adventures here.
    http://www.northbysudouest.blogspot.com
    Thanks
    nbso

  4. There is a buffalo grill round the corner from us actually….maybe we should try it! ;-)

  5. Smoky Wok says:

    Lovely! Just dropping by to wish you and your family a very Happy 2012! :)

  6. Hello, stranger – long time no comment :D. Very sorry about the uninspiring trip, though it’s good that you expected the worst, as it were. I do rather like the little pots though and the dessert is quite pretty. I shall have to catch up with some of your recipes :D

Leave a Reply

