Salmon with Saffron Sauce and Fettuccine

What can I say?  Salmon with fresh pasta and saffron sauce.  We practically swooned!

Fast and easy.  Have some today!

Salmon with Saffron Sauce and Fettuccine

2 tbsp butter

2 shallots, chopped

1/2 cup white wine

1 tsp dijon mustard

1/2 tsp saffron

1 cup cream

Salt and pepper

1 tomato, deseeded and chopped

2 tbsp chives, chopped

4 salmon filets

1 tbsp olive oil

1 lb fresh fettuccine, cooked and drained

2 tbsp sun dried tomatoes in oil, chopped

Saute the shallots in butter until soft.  Add the white wine and reduce by half.  Add the mustard, saffron, cream, salt and pepper and bring to a boil.  Remove from heat and add tomato and chives.  Set aside and keep warm.

Cook the salmon filets in the olive oil using the Wagamama method 2 minutes turn 2 minutes, 4 times, a total of 8 minutes.

Toss the fettuccine with the tomatoes and serve immediately with the salmon and sauce.

Wine suggestion:  Sancerre

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, fish, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Salmon with Saffron Sauce and Fettuccine

  1. Ooo that looks lovely Rosemary, love the sound of your sauce for the pasta with the saffron, and the salmon looks perfectly cooked, slightly crispy on the outside and lovely and moist one the inside.
    Hope you have a wonderful festive period with lots of delicious cooking.
    Cheers
    Marcus

  2. Lovely pics and delicious recipe

  3. When I read your topic the first thing that came to mind was the color of the saffron and the salmon, what a fantastic recipe sounds and looks divine!

  4. Karen says:

    I think I would swoon also. Lots of wonderful flavors there.

  5. I have the salmon..and saffron! This looks delicious! I’ll be making this after the holidays. Thank you!

  6. Very indulgent. Looks just wonderful.

  7. It looks great and I can imagine the flavour of the saffron would go very well with salmon.

  8. 2peas says:

    yum. I don’t often have fish over pasta, but now I will. Looks great.

  9. joshuafagans says:

    I am on a saffron kick as of late. There is something wonderful about it. This recipe looks and sounds fantastic.

  10. Anna says:

    One of the most exquisite tasting spices with one of my favorite fish dishes…Saffron and salmon! Yummy! This is a match made in heaven. The pasta makes the dish complete! Thanks for sharing. Awesome combination. Great post!

  11. I’m getting a little behind with my responses to your comments. Thanks everybody for visiting and have very, happy, happy holidays. I will continue to post and respond when I can.

  12. Pingback: Sockeye Salmon with Whole Wheat Pasta | life, in recipes

  13. Great recipe, however, do not opt for a Sancerre! Go for more structure and body, like Vouvra, Burgunday, new world Chardonnay with a little, just a little oak, a Chenin Blanc, the likes, maybe the odd Italian, like a Greco di Tufo

  14. Donna says:

    This looks delicious. And I have everything I need on hand…so it looks like dinner tonight! Can you explain the Wagamama method of cooking the salmon?

    • Hi Donna. This method is in the Wagamama cookbook and delivers perfectly cooked salmon everytime. Depending on the thickness of your salmon, sear the salmon on one side for 2 minutes, turn, 2 minutes again, turn, 2 minutes and if you have really thick salmon fillets like mine, turn and 2 minutes again. By looking at the fillets on the side, you can tell when it’s cooked to your taste. Enjoy!

  15. Thanks. You were right; it worked perfectly. They were fairly thin, and we like them on the rare side so I stuck with 2 minutes per side. Delicious recipe.

  16. alejandrina pattin says:

    Great recipe. However, I feel you should have given attribution :

    http://www.waitrose.com/content/waitrose/en/home/recipes/recipe_directory/s/seared_salmon_with_saffron_sauce.html

    This recipe is identical to yours and was published in 1998.

    • Thank you for looking at my site Alejandrina. Whenever I am inspired by or I copy a recipe directly, I give credit. I looked a the waitrose site and I can assure you I didn’t get it from there. I made this a while ago so I can’t tell you where my idea came from, but it wasn’t waitrose.

Leave a Reply

