Balsamic Glazed Calf’s Liver with Brussel Sprouts

Okay, boudin noir yesterday, calf’s liver today.  Jade and I have to get our favorites out of the way before the squeamish, palate-less side of the family arrives.  It’s not that they don’t like these things when I serve them, but it’s the suspicious looks on their faces while eating them that makes me think they can’t be enjoying them as they would, say, something from the outside of the animal.  So, because my husband is assigned to Southern Sudan where there is very little variety in meats/vegetables and my son doesn’t have the time nor coin to eat in the way he would like, I will only make things that I know will put big smiles on their faces.  No insides.  In the meantime, Jade and I are having a high ole time!

The recipe for the brussel sprouts can be found here  http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2011/02/11/mushrooms-brussel-sprouts-and-photography/

Balsamic Glazed Calf’s Liver

2 slices of calf’s liver

Salt and pepper

Flour

2 tbsp butter

1 tbsp olive oil

5 ounces balsamic vinegar

Season the liver with salt and pepper, then dust with flour.  Fry in 1 tbsp of the butter and the olive oil, 2 minutes per side.  Remove and set aside.

Pour out the oil from the pan and deglaze with the vinegar, boiling until reduced to half.  Add the remaining tablespoon of butter and whisk until blended.  Put the liver in the pan, turning to coat and cook for about 2 minutes.  Serve with brussel sprouts.

Wine suggestion:  Cremant Rose

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Balsamic Glazed Calf’s Liver with Brussel Sprouts

  1. Love the description of “insides” as opposed to “les abats” or the bits that were chopped off!

  2. Love the sprouts. I haven’t had calf liver in, um, well I don’t know! You make everything look so wonderful.

  3. Jon says:

    Looks great! I use the exact same approach to the liver, but with sherry vinegar (and the pat of butter of course). Unfortunately liver is on the black list for the time being in Mexico given the clembutorol scare (bovine growth hormone)….. So the images are very timely!

  4. I love ‘insides’ and this looks delicious!

  5. Frugal and Sens championing liver on wordpress :D. Looks delicious!

  6. Yum! Calf’s liver is hit or miss for me but I think balsamic glaze and brussels are great complimentary notes.

  7. Karen says:

    You could make that dish for me any day, I love liver.

  8. Michelle says:

    Love liver. Love Brussels sprouts. What a perfect dinner. Also love the description of “the palate-less side of the family,” and will use it on my husband who loathes liver!

  9. purabinaha says:

    What a yummy dish! I loved this so much! Bookmarked. Do you have a facebook page? Please feel free to follow mine if you like: http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Cosmopolitan-Currymania/213631198670124

Leave a Reply

