Mushroom Boudin Blanc with Apples

Panfried boudin blanc with carmelized apples and butter sauteed mushroom caps.

However, even if you threw these immediately onto a baguette with mustard, who could deny you?  Not I.

Or you can go with the program.

Jade did.  That’s why she got this hat.

Mushroom Boudin Blanc with Apples

4 boudin blanc, mushroom flavored

1 tbsp butter

2 apples, cored and sectioned into 6 pieces each

1 tbsp brown sugar

1 tsp water

Brown the boudin in the butter until it takes on a nice pleasant color.  Lower the flame, cover and cook for about 10 minutes, turning occasionally.  Remove from the pan and keep warm.

Add the apples to the pan and turn until slightly brown.  Add the sugar and water and cook for about 5 minutes.   Serve with the boudin and sauteed mushroom caps.

Wine suggestion:  Chablis

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Mushroom Boudin Blanc with Apples

  1. Conor Bofin says:

    You may not believe this but….. I bought four big apple and thyme sausages to cook for our evening meal tonight. I will add a couple of sliced apples to the pan with the onions and perhaps add a bit of brown sugar too. I like to cook the sausages on a pan, without any added butter or oil, over a very low heat. they take about 40 minutes to cook this way but are delicious as a result of the slow cooking and caramelisation.

  2. I’m so into my mushrooms right now and these sound delicious! I’ve been away from wordpress for around a week so I shall have to catch up with your posts :D

  3. Jade is looking so cool – great hat. I’m also keen on boudin.

  4. Fay says:

    My sausages in the fridge are a different type, but the recipe would work. Dinner! Love the hat on such a beautiful young woman.

  5. Karen says:

    Great photos, making me hungry.

  6. Wait, if I go with the program do I have to wear the hat? I think it suits Jade more, but if I have to to get this dinner well bring it on.

  7. I wish I could get lovely boudin like these where I am. Such a great flavour comination with the apples, and as usual such lip smacking photography.
    Cheers
    Marcus

  8. I’m not so keen on apples….except in these sort of dishes. It looks wonderful!

  9. deana says:

    This is a lovely recipe… I am in a sausage making mood and have yet to try boudin blanc… now to find a recipe for that!!!

Leave a Reply

