Salmon Salad

I just want you all to know that I took the salmon out of the freezer at 8:00 a.m. this morning before I went shopping and when I returned was completely intimidated by Roger’s pretty little tart  http://stowell.wordpress.com/2011/11/30/ill-follow-the-sun-with-a-smoked-salmon-tart-in-tow/.  Oh well, this was good too :)

Salmon Salad

Smoked salmon

quail eggs, hard boiled and halved

Salmon eggs

Iceberg lettuce

Mache

Capers

Dill

Creme fraiche

Toast

Place the mache and lettuce on a salad plate, draping the salmon on top.  Arrange the quail eggs around the lettuce and top with the salmon eggs.  Sprinkle with capers and dill, top with a dollop of creme fraiche and serve with toast.

Wine suggestion:  Champagne Jacquart Brut

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Cooking, fish, Food and Wine, French, Recipes, Salad and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Salmon Salad

  1. Jon says:

    Great job on the pictures.

  2. This blows that crummy tart out of the water. (I know, that wasn’t convincing at all, the tart was great, I can’t get it out of my head, but this is too!) Those quail eggs look wonderful.

  3. This salad not only looks really cute, with that mix of colours and textures, I’m sure it’s also delicious!
    I’ll take the recipe with me, I must try it!!

  4. Well you certainly got it right today. Looks fantastic – nicely seen.

  5. tokyohamster says:

    Your plating is divine! I love the color and texture addition of the salmon eggs. I think I have some smoked salmon laying around .. this will be perfect for lunch tomorrow :)

  6. Pingback: A smoked salmon extravaganza | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  7. @ tokyo Yes, 1 euro 50. I was so pleased, I returned and bought 3 more :)

  8. Alex says:

    Terrific, you did a great job and the photo is great too, I will try to cook this next Monday.

  9. Thank you Alex. Good luck with the salad.

Leave a Reply

