Duck Confit Cassoulet

In preparation for my husband and son’s Christmas visit, who can’t possibly be eating as well as they do at home, I did some heavy shopping today.  Freezer items are still out of bounds but I did buy some salted cod and ingredients to make Chiquetaille http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2011/03/18/haitian-chiquetaille-cod-fish-salad/ which they love.

Because I didn’t have time to cook today, I bought a traiteur made duck confit cassoulet for lunch.  Just as I was about to dig in, I felt the overwhelming need to take a picture.  So I did.  Good thing since Roger decided to do smoked salmon today.

The cassoulet was pretty good with  a whole duck leg, saucisson, beans and bacon.  Traiteurs are a good thing!

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Duck Confit Cassoulet

  1. Karen says:

    One of my favorite French dishes, especially when visiting Carcassonne.

  2. I can see why that’s a favorite.

  3. Fantastic, Sens! I absolutely must try this!

  4. I think my husband would die of happiness if I made this for him!

  5. Cassoulet must be the best winter dish and this, of course, looks like a good one!

Leave a Reply

