Greek Moussaka

In keeping with my resolution to empty the freezers before I buy another thing to go in them, I defrosted some ground lamb and grilled eggplant slices to make moussaka.  Moussaka is one of the first dinner party dishes I learned to make.

The eggplant are covered with a rich, tomato-ey sauce of lamb and aromatics.

The dish is then layered with plenty of grated cheese, a voluptuous bechamel sauce and baked.

Moussaka

1 lb ground lamb

1/2 onion, chopped

3 garlic cloves, chopped

3/4 cup tomato puree

2 tbsp parsley, chopped

1 tbsp tomato paste

Salt and pepper

Butter

bread crumbs

8-10 slices of grilled eggplant

2 cups grated cheese

2 cups bechamel sauce

Brown the lamb in a skillet then add the onion and garlic cloves, cooking until the onion is soft.  Add the puree, parsley, tomato paste, salt, pepper and simmer for 15 minutes.

Lightly grease 2-4 individual baking dishes with butter and coat with bread crumbs.  Place the eggplant on the bottom of the baking dishes, layering with meat sauce, cheese, eggplant, cheese, bechamel sauce and lastly a light scattering of cheese.

Bake the dishes in a 400 degree Fahrenheit oven for about 30 minutes.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, Greek, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Greek Moussaka

  1. I too sometimes make a dish at aiming to clear the freezer/ fridge :) It’s like decluttering hah! The moussaka looks delicious!

  2. I’m in the process of using the freezer contents too! I like the bit where you get to identify a tub of something because the label has come off! Makes for interesting meals when you think you are defrosting a soup and it turns out to be apple sauce :)

  3. I think everyone is doing the same at the moment, I keep using up freezer things too. I love moussaka, and this looks delicious.
    Cheers
    Marcus

  4. That’s a very good looking moussaka!

  5. Felicia says:

    Moussaka is a terrific dish, and your version looks luscious–way too nice for mere freezer cleanup!

  6. I love moussaka! How can you go wrong with lamb and eggplant?

  7. Anna says:

    I have a similar recipe but one that uses tuna chunks (not the dripping variety in oil) instead of lamb. The secret is cheese, cheese and more cheese! I wanted to try your version using lamb, more tasty, I believe! Thanks for the post!

  8. You’ve reminded me that I haven’t made moussaka for far too long. This looks wonderful!

  9. Rich tomato goodness! Looks fantastic.

Leave a Reply

