Curried Chicken Soup

I love the taste of leeks.   I don’t know why but somehow reading Frugal’s http://frugalfeeding.wordpress.com/ blog site made me think of a soup that I’ve never made, but heard about, cock-a-leekie.  I like the name.   Sounds Welsh-ish :)  I couldn’t be bothered to look up a recipe but I knew that I wanted a soup with chicken and leeks.

The guy who is banging away, removing the fireplace, is from Mauritius and because I invited him to eat Sunday lunch with us, I added curry and put the violent chilli paste on the table.  The other ingredients are just what I had around the house, I couldn’t be bothered to go to the store.  Again.

Curried Chicken Soup

2 leeks, thinly sliced

2 celery branches, sliced

2 tbsp butter

3 carrots, sliced

1 bay leaf and 7 or 8 thyme dried stems, tied together (bouquet garni)

2 tsp curry powder

2 quarts of chicken stock or water

Salt and pepper

3 chicken breasts, skin and bones removed

4 potatoes, cut into chunks

Cook the leeks and celery in the butter until soft.   Add the carrots, bouquet garni, curry powder, stock or water, salt, pepper and simmer for 15 minutes.  Add the chicken breasts for 15 minutes, remove, cut into chunks and return to pot along with the potatoes.  Bring to a boil and simmer for about 15 minutes more.  Serve with slices of good country bread, slathered with amazing butter.  Grated cheese on top is also good.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes, Soup and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Curried Chicken Soup

  1. Nice warming recipe – like the check table cloth

  2. Medha says:

    I love the taste of leeks. Thanks for sharing :)

  3. Karen says:

    Sometimes making do with what we have in the house produces the best meals. I’m sure you dinner guest was very happy, especially since he could smell it while he was working.

  4. I too am a leek fan. This makes me want chicken soup.

  5. Tessa says:

    Looks wonderful! But, what’s the violent chili paste?

  6. ceciliag says:

    That does sound violent. But your soup sounds like a lovely warm comforting soup. just right for a hard working day. Are you enjoying your new photography space a bit more now? The leeks look nicely lit.. or was that shot in the kitchen?.. c

  7. Fay says:

    The leek/ curry combo sounds subtle and fine with chicken. Beautiful pics as always.

  8. I suppose it does actually sound quite Welsh :D Looks yummy. Glad I provided some of the inspiration! I’m sure you’ll provide some more for me when I get my kitchen back!

Leave a Reply

