Deep Fried Quail with Hoisin Dipping Sauce

It was the first time that I deep fried quail and it was good, but I have to say that I think quail deserves better than this.  Quail and it’s eggs are delicacies.  I think it ceases to be “delicate” when you deep fry it, although it did not prevent us from chowing down like field hands just finishing a 12 hour shift.  Oh well, just my opinion.   The Asian coleslaw that I poached from Susi Kochen  http://susikochenundbacken.blogspot.com/2010/04/asian-slaw.html was fabu-licious!  We ate some for entree.

Deep Fried Quail with Hoisin Dipping Sauce

6 quail

2 tbsp curry powder

1 tbsp salt

1 cup coconut milk

Flour

Peanut oil

3 garlic cloves, chopped

1 red chilli, chopped

1 cup hoisin sauce

1/4 cup warm water

1/4 cup peanut butter

1 tbsp rice vinegar

With kitchen shears, cut each quail down the backbone and flatten.   Mix the curry powder, salt and coconut milk, add the quail and refrigerate overnight.

Mince the garlic and chilli in a food processor, add the hoisin sauce, peanut butter, water and rice vinegar, blending well.

Remove the quail from the refrigerator and toss with flour.   Fry until golden brown and serve with the hoisin dipping sauce.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Asian, Cooking, Food and Wine, Hors d'oeuvres, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Deep Fried Quail with Hoisin Dipping Sauce

  1. Wow, they certainly look the business, could these be a posh version of KFC?
    Cheers
    Marcus

  2. I like the simplicity of the shot -nice one

  3. I don’t think there’s anything wrong with it, as long as it’s done properly. This clearly is. The only time I’ve ever visited KFC was in a Parisian flea market, simply because I didn’t trust anything they were selling. It was horrible… I have never returned.

  4. Everyone has the right to say what they want here. I’m just glad you all are paying attention :)

  5. What did you substitute for the bag of cole slaw mix when you made the Asian slaw? Or can you find bags of cole slaw mix in Sens? How big are they? How much do they weigh? Are they just shredded cabbage and shredded carrots? Thanks.

    • Hi Ken. Good question. I was fully prepared to shred cabbage and carrots to make her recipe but it proved unnecessary. If you have a Carrefour or Leclerc near you, they have beautiful bags of shredded carrots, cabbage, red pepper and herbs in their refrigerated sections for lettuce. Really beautiful! Let me know if you decide to do the recipe without the prepped bags. That could be good also.

      • Ken says:

        Uh-oh, we have no Carrefour or Leclerc within 40 km of Saint-Aignan. I’ll let you know if I try the recipe, but just a few days ago I was thinking about this kind of cole slaw. Thanks.

  6. I’d have to agree, but it may also be I just tired of fried food living in a state where everything can be battered and thrown in hot oil. I also agree with Roger, great photo.

  7. Delicate or not the idea of a complete bird deep fried and just for me sounds wonderful!

  8. Truly mouthwatering! Looks so crispy and delicious :)

  9. Those quails look so yummy despite being deep fried. I am not a big fan of deep-fried food, but I wouldn’t mind trying this dish :-). Love the look of the salad, great photos.

  10. Pingback: Devon Fried Pheasant « COUNTRYWOODSMOKE

  11. Pingback: Crispy, Twice Cooked Duck | Cooking in Sens

  12. Pingback: Hoisin Roasted Pork Steaks | Cooking in Sens

  13. Pingback: Lumpiang Hubad | Cooking in Sens

Leave a Reply

