Langres Cheese Baked Eggs

Today I’m moving my photography table upstairs because the workers are going to remove the fireplace.   I swore on a stack of bibles that even though I would cook, I would take no pictures.  However, when I made breakfast this morning by spreading a thin layer of Fatima’s lentils http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2011/10/27/fatimas-lentils-with-spiced-cured-pork-shoulder/ on the bottom of an egg ramekin, topping that with diced tomatoes, eggs and Langres cheese, then baking that in the oven, what could I do.  That yolk peeking out of the white just would not leave me alone!   I was forced to take this picture.

Langres is included in the celebrated “Delices de Bourgogne” cheeses.   Popularized by the Dominicans in the 17th century, this cheese conserves well.   Is that English?  Roger?

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cheese, Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Langres Cheese Baked Eggs

  1. Oh, but the flesh is weak. Cool pic, though.

  2. I’m drooling now, and it’s only 8am here :) I haven’t heard of langress before – always nice to learn a new name

  3. Kathy says:

    ooh that looks delicious! So glad you took a photo… wonderful!

  4. ceciliag says:

    Oh no, things are going to get dusty! I hope they are quick, are you creating a new fireplace? c ps I am eating my eggs as i look at yours!! c

  5. Looks like a wonderful breakfast!

  6. Kocinera says:

    Wow! I can see what you got the photography bug. Those eggs look gorgeous!

  7. Damn that looks good. I’m a sucker for eggs.

  8. Oh this looks so good…
    I feel like diving in these egg… Yes I said diving inside these holy eggs.
    Beautiful!!!

Leave a Reply

