Lancashire Hot Pot

Frugal http://frugalfeeding.wordpress.com/ gave me the idea for this post, a lamb and potato casserole.

The recipe uses both lamb neck and kidneys.

It drives me insane when I burn things.   It doesn’t look nice nor appetizing.

This happened because instead of hanging out by the stove, I was up in the square having Chablis with my main squeeze.  I scraped the burned parts off but I was not pleased!

Recipe is at http://www.deliaonline.com/recipes/main-ingredient/lamb/traditional-lancashire-hotpot.html.  I used a tajine to cook it in and decreased the cooking time to 2 hours altogether.   The burn came when I put it in the top of the oven and went to the square.  Darn!

Jade made this for her father’s homecoming.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, English, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Lancashire Hot Pot

  1. I’m sat in the middle of the north sea on an oil rig, the wind is blowing a gale, and that dish looks totally delicious, wouldn’t matter to me that it’s a bit extra crispy in places :)
    Loving the Lancashire/Marrakech fusion!
    I think a lamb hotpot with some moroccan spices would be delicious too.
    Cheers
    Marcus

  2. I think the burnt edges look great, and I love the taste of the sticky, burnt edges of thinly sliced potatoes. Good stuff.

  3. Ahha, it seems you’ve gone down the more traditional route – I’m glad. It looks lovely, chablis always has the power to catch one out :P. Though I’m more of a Merlot kinda guy – white isn’t my thing, but perhaps that’s because it’s far harder to find a nice bottle of white than it is a bottle of red.

    • I know, Frugal. White is always hard to find, we found it so in Africa and drank a lot of red. Thank you very much for the idea, it was gorgeous. You are also right about the Merlot.

  4. Well, that is a good reason to burn something!

  5. ceciliag says:

    I agree with greg, you were distacted by Mr Handsome! and perfect timing as i go to pick up my lamb in little white packages today! I quite like those little crunchy bits too.. c

Leave a Reply

