Tajine Braised Chicken Tarragon

Yes, well I’m tajine cooking again.   They are so versatile and I’ve fallen in love!

The Emile Henry tajines have such elegant lines, I just make up things to cook in them. Like this tarragon chicken, you just know it’ll work!

Tajine Braised Chicken Tarragon

6 chicken thighs

Salt and pepper

2 tbsp olive oil

1 tbsp butter

2 onions, quartered

5 large garlic cloves, sliced

8 small tomatoes, quartered

3 sprigs fresh tarragon leaves

1/2 cup white wine

Season the chicken thighs with salt and pepper and brown in the olive oil.   Remove the chicken and all but 1 tablespoon of the cooking oil, add the butter, onions, garlic and cook until the garlic begins to brown.   Add the tomatoes and tarragon leaves, cooking and stirring for about 2 minutes.   Place the chicken on top of the vegetables, pour the white wine on top and place in a 400 degree oven, covered for 30 minutes.   Remove the tajine top and continue to cook for an additional 15 minutes.

Wine suggestion:   Macon Village

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Tajine Braised Chicken Tarragon

  1. ceciliag says:

    My tarragon did not grow for long I have to try again.. so sad.. however i am more and more determined to find myself a tajine.. c

  2. I love fresh tarragon. This looks fantastic.

  3. Juls says:

    I wouldn’t have thought of doing tarragon chicken in a tajine, but it sure looks good and I’ll definitely be giving it a go!

  4. I’ve never tried tajine cooking before, looks like it’s going to be something I’m trying soon :) The chicken looks lovely btw!

  5. I think I may get myself one of these tajines – they look so pretty! :D This is totally my sort of cooking by the way.

  6. Yummy! I’m going to make something very similar!

  7. Joanne says:

    This sounds good! I don’t have a tanjine, but a dutch oven would work the same, right?

Leave a Reply

