Calamari Rings with Chilli Lime Mayonnaise

I grew up in California and can remember all of us kids, wading out at high tide, in a very calm ocean, waist deep, picking up clams from the ocean floor.  Others, better equipped, had special clam forks and could dig for clams as the tide went out, but at Pismo Beach clams were plentiful and we did okay.  We’d take our harvest back to our mother and she would pound and then deep fry the clams, serving them with her special cocktail sauce.   I can still taste them!

We adored our trips to the ocean and would spend the days on the beach, in and out of the water, our bodies turning a deeper brown in the sun.  I missed the ocean a lot, without realizing it, as I spent decades in overseas, landlocked countries.  It was when I landed in Senegal, my last post, and smelled the ocean that I realized, too late, what I had been missing.   Goodbye Senegal, hello France :)

Here Roger, les radis.

Anyway, yesterday was Jade’s day off so we did a little shopping and I made some calamari rings for lunch with lime chilli mayonnaise.    http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2011/08/17/sarkozys-oysters-banh-mi/

Deep Fried Calamari Rings

1 lb calamari rings

1/2 cup milk

1 egg

1/2 cup flour

1/4 cup bread crumbs

1 tsp garlic powder

1/2 tsp paprika

Salt and pepper

Peanut oil

Beat the milk and egg together, add the calamari rings and let sit for 5 minutes.   Mix the flour, bread crumbs, garlic powder, paprika, salt and pepper.   Dip the rings into the flour mixture and fry until golden brown.  Serve with the chilli lime mayonnaise and some radishes.

Wine suggestion:   Muscadet

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Appetizer, Cooking, fish, Food and Wine, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Calamari Rings with Chilli Lime Mayonnaise

  1. This has to be one of my all time favourites when done well, these look delicious crispy and salty and the lovely pics have got me drooling.
    Cheers
    Marcus

  2. I’ve never tried calamari, but I’d definitely give this a pop – it looks delicious. The dipping sauce sounds especially well suited to the rings.

  3. jacqueline says:

    Fried calamari has always been a favorite of mine. These photos look mouthwatering. Great post!

  4. One of my absolute favorite appetizers. Looks wonderful. I tend to make calamari only once a year, stuff it on Christmas Eve. I love it, it’s just not the easiest to get here.

  5. I love calamari. The mayo sounds fabulous!

  6. Matt Wrench says:

    I’m trying to learn about wine. What makes muscadet such a good pairing? I’ve never even heard of that varietal before now.

  7. ceciliag says:

    Well you know we are severely land locked here, but I am interested in your sauce and the container it is served in.. very pretty.. and unusual.. John promises to take me somewhere where there are clams.. c

  8. These look delish! I was a huge fan of shellfish before I found out a couple years ago I’m allergic. Calamari is the closest food I can get to my old love. I’ve never made it, but I would love to try!

  9. The Cook says:

    Wow, so simple and yet so impressive!

  10. Dee says:

    Wow beautiful photos (and that sauce pot is really cute)!

  11. Pingback: Calamari with Chili Lime Mayo « annashortcakes

Leave a Reply

