Good Ole Girl Lunch

I decided to have some “good ole girls” over for lunch today.  Good ole girls like good food, good wine and just love to laugh out loud.  We began with a Bailly Cremant Chardonnay and potted shrimp. http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2011/09/02/crevettes-en-pot/

I knew they would love the honey mustard chicken with sweet potatoes http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2011/10/04/honey-mustard-chicken-and-sweet-potatoes/.  The wine was Bourgogne Aligote and quite good.  Notice my new red tajine :)   It’s a pity I didn’t think of having a Calvados pause or trou Normand before the salad but it was okay, the Aligote sufficed.

This course was a combination cheese and salad course with Papillon Roquefort, my favorite.

I have to say that the girls were starting to flag and didn’t really show much enthusiasm when I mentioned dessert until I sat it in front of them.   They rallied.  My girls!   Panna cotta with a kiwi coulis and a topping of fresh kiwi.  For the panna cotta http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2011/09/22/white-chocolate-panna-cotta-with-berries/  Then instead of the berries, make the kiwi coulis, pour the panna cotta over, allow to set and then top with fresh, chopped kiwi.

Kiwi Coulis

2 tbsp cornstarch

1/2 cup water

1/4 cup sugar

2 cup kiwis, coarsely chopped

Dissolve the cornstarch in a little water and set aside.  Boil the water, sugar and kiwi together for about 5 minutes.   Add the cornstarch and stir for 1 minute.  Allow to cool before using.

Impossible to keep them still for the photos.  I have to ask Roger what to do when taking pictures of good ole girls.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Appetizer, Cooking, Dessert, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes, Salad and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Good Ole Girl Lunch

  1. I don’t think you could have done it better – it says you were having FUN. Brilliant.

  2. Tammy says:

    I love having lunch with good friends and it’s such a good idea to cook instead of going out. And I also love the way that the photo turned out – even if they weren’t still.

  3. ceciliag says:

    i agree with Roger that shot of your friends is very very classy. And your kiwifruit dessert makes me long for home. Everything is making me long for home and my own dear friends today.. a beautiful lunch.. and lovely light at your table.. c

  4. I like the special effects. I am convinced you have a cabinet just for tajines.

Leave a Reply

