Spaghettini with Basil, Bacon and Tomatoes

It’s really unbelievable how much information I was given in photography class that I’m just now understanding.  For instance, Roger would briefly insert an item in the scene for me to use as a focus point.   Trying not to try his patience, I would nod my head and say, yeah, or something like that because I didn’t know what he was talking about.  Now I understand, and taking it one step further, if I have difficulty clinching the focus on my subject, I’ll put a whole different plate in the scene with can’t miss items and attempt to find my focus with them, then when I do, I replace the subject plate and try again. Works for me and that explains the tomato and the lemon.

Spaghettini, Basil, Bacon and Tomatoes

1/2 lb bacon, sliced into batons

3 tbsp olive oil

1 onion, coarsely diced

1 red bell pepper, coarsely diced

3 garlic cloves, chopped

1 large heirloom tomato, diced

1/4 cup red wine

1 package cooked spaghettini

1/4 cup basil, cut into strips (chiffonade)

1/4 cup grated parmesan

Salt and pepper

Fry the bacon until crisp, remove from pan and drain on paper towels.  Add the olive oil to the pan and saute the onion and red bell pepper until the onion is just translucent.  Add the garlic and saute until fragrant, then add the tomatoes and cook for 5 minutes stirring. Pour in the wine and boil for 2 minutes.

Toss the sauce with the spaghettini, basil, bacon, parmesan, salt and pepper.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, Italian, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Spaghettini with Basil, Bacon and Tomatoes

  1. That’s too funny, I had the same thing for dinner last night — a tomato and a lemon. Kidding, glad you learned so much. The meal and the photos look wonderful.

  2. Muriel says:

    Just found your blog, thanks for the inspo!

  3. mathilde says:

    Hi ! I’m a french teenage foodblogger and I love your recipes, your pictures. Your blog is great and you are talented for photography, I’d like my blog to be as good as yours.
    Thank you for sharing everything !

  4. I sometimes use other objects to focus on and then move to point at something else, didn’t know it was a thing! Looks great by the way, I adore a nice and simple pasta recipe – nice, light and healthy.

Leave a Reply

