Tajine Breakfast Egg

One of the results of getting up on these increasingly chilly mornings to walk the dog is that I’m up long before things get going in town and being one of those unfortunates who, once up,  can’t go back to bed, I have to look for something to do inside until there’s something to do outside.

Since I’m having fun with the little breakfasts, I thought I’d make one with my new mini tajine.  The challenge is to make what one can of the almost non-existent early morning light.    The recipe is straight forward and easy.

Tajine Breakfast Egg

1 thick slice of onion, chopped

1 roma tomato, seeded and chopped

1 tbsp butter

Salt and pepper

1 egg

Grated cheese

Parsley, chopped

Saute the onion and tomato in the butter until the onion is soft then put this mixture in the bottom of the mini tajine, forming a nest.   Break the egg into the tomato onion nest, pierce the yolk with a toothpick, and sprinkle with cheese and parsley.   Bake or microwave.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Tajine Breakfast Egg

  1. Oh, I want one of those!
    But I suppose I’d need two….Hubby’s not the sharing-type when it comes to breakfast!
    A perfect not-recipe. :)

    • They come in sets of two in all kinds of colors. Try to get the kind that you can also use on the stove top. I couldn’t find the mini kind like that here in France but maybe you’ll have more luck in the States. Anyway, even if you just find the kind that goes in the oven, they’re great!

  2. I love how you make such a simple breakfast look like a piece of art!

  3. ceciliag says:

    that tajine breakfast looks adorable and beautifully presented and shot, you have your own style i think.. and i definitely want a tajine.. c

  4. I have honestly never heard of a tajine and I am excited to try this new method! Your breakfast egg looks delicious! Thanks for sharing

  5. Food Lover says:

    I the recipe but I love your mini tajine much more :D tell me is it “Le Creuset”? Or what’s the brand of it?

  6. ambrosiana says:

    This looks so delicious!!! OMG ..the pictures are fabulous!

  7. Mikaela says:

    Looks delicious! How long do you bake it for?

  8. Pingback: iLSuL6ana » Recipe: Tajine Breakfast Egg *Easy*

  9. Catherine says:

    What is the dimensions of your mini tagine my husband says that the one you are using is bigger than ours but I don’t think so. Thanks

Leave a Reply

